NWCA NCAA DII Rankings – December 31, 2021

MANHEIM, PA – The University of Central Oklahoma held onto the top spot in NCAA Division II Wrestling to close out the 2021 calendar year, as announced in the NWCA Division II Coaches Poll released Friday, Dec. 31.

The #1 Bronchos widened their lead on the rest of the field, topping #2 St. Cloud State by 18 points, with UCO amassing 104 total points behind seven ranked wrestlers- including three #1s. The three-time defending National Champion Huskies took the two-spot with 86 points, with McKendree (70), West Liberty (67), and Nebraska-Kearney (62) rounding out D2’s top five.

St. Cloud leads the field with eight ranked wrestlers, with returning National Finalist #1 Joey Bianchini still atop the 141 top 12. The seven from Central Oklahoma are next best, headlined by a new #1 in Tanner Cole at 133. Cole is joined by teammates Heath Gray (184) and Dalton Abney (197) in the top spot at their respective weights, while #5 Nebraska-Kearney also has seven ranked, led by Sam Turner again ranked as the nation’s top wrestler at 149.

In addition to Cole at 133, there are two other new #1s in this edition of the rankings, with both McKendree’s Christian Mejia (125) and Indianapolis’ Andrew Sams (174) making their way into the top spots at their respective weights after bracket championships at the 42nd Midwest Classic prior to the holiday. James Wimer of Findlay (157), Alex Farenchak of Gannon (165) and Andrew Dunn of Kutztown (285) all held on to their #1 spots in the latest rankings.

Super Region Five again leads regionally with eight teams in the Top 25 and 33 total wrestlers ranked, including one #1 in SCSU’s Bianchini at 141. Both Super Region One and Super Region Six each have five teams in the Top 25, with Super Region 6 coming in second individually with 24 ranked wrestlers, highlighted by UNK’s Turner in the top spot at 149. Super Region 4 tops the #1 listing, with half of D2’s top-ranked individuals coming from SR4: UCO’s Cole (133), Gray (184), and Abney (197), UIndy’s Sams (174), and McKendree’s Mejia (125).

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference leads all conferences with 33 ranked individuals and eight of the Top 25 teams. The Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference and the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference both have four teams in the Top 25, while the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association has four top-ranked individuals, and 17 total ranked wrestlers.

The next ranking will come out on Jan. 21, following NWCA National Duals and the start of many team’s conference seasons.


  1. Christian Mejia Mckendree
  2. Cole Laya West Liberty
  3. Joe Arroyo Uw-Parkside
  4. Christian Wellman Ashland
  5. Jaxson Rohman Augustana
  6. Josh Portillo Nebraska-Kearney
  7. Dawson Collins Colorado Mesa
  8. Paxton Rosen Central Oklahoma
  9. Isaiah De La Cerda Adams State
  10. Trenton Mcmanus Minnesota State
  11. Paxton Creese St. Cloud State
  12. Nick Daggett UNC-Pembroke


  1. Tanner Cole Central Oklahoma
  2. Collin Metzgar Colorado Mesa
  3. Garrett Vos St. Cloud State
  4. Patrick Allis Western Colorado
  5. Collin Wickramaratna Kutztown
  6. Kaden Anderlik Upper Iowa
  7. Jack Huffman Augustana
  8. Reece Barnhardt Mary
  9. Jonathan Andreatta Adams State
  10. Tanner Hitchcock Lindenwood
  11. Brandon Borlinghaus Drury
  12. Eric Bartos Mercyhurst


  1. Joey Bianchini St. Cloud State
  2. Branson Proudlock Findlay
  3. Colby Smith Lindenwood
  4. Nate Keim Central Oklahoma
  5. Josh Fuentes-Norikiyo San Francisco State
  6. Christian Small King
  7. Peter Kuster Drury
  8. Sean Johnson American Int.
  9. Dean Noble Western Colorado
  10. Nick James Nebraska-Kearney
  11. Tyler Warner West Liberty
  12. Brandon Carroll Augustana


  1. Sam Turner Nebraska-Kearney
  2. Dominic Means Gannon
  3. Brik Filippo Central Oklahoma
  4. Noah Hermosillo Adams State
  5. Kyle Rathman Minnesota State
  6. Jacob Ealy Pitt-Johnstown
  7. Eric Faught Upper Iowa
  8. Wyatt Turnquist Northern State
  9. Logan Bailey Indianapolis
  10. Craig Cook Davis & Elkins
  11. Carson Speelman Ashland
  12. Tyler Stegall Maryville


  1. James Wimer Findlay
  2. Colby Njos St. Cloud State
  3. Ty Lucas Central Oklahoma
  4. Chase Luensman Upper Iowa
  5. James Burks Northern State
  6. Josiah Rider Adams State
  7. Jojo Gonzalez American Int.
  8. Braydon Huber Mary
  9. John Burger Limestone
  10. Nick Young Gannon
  11. Dallas Boone King
  12. Ryan Wheeler Colorado Mesa


  1. Alex Farenchak Gannon
  2. Matt Malcom Nebraska-Kearney
  3. Shane Gantz Uw-Parkside
  4. Cory Peterson Mckendree
  5. Kameron Frame Newman
  6. James Penfold Lake Erie
  7. Mitch Dean Belmont Abbey
  8. Devin Donovan St. Cloud State
  9. Nate Trepanier Lindenwood
  10. Dillon Keane Pitt.-Johnstown
  11. Drew Wiechers Ashland
  12. Jack Eiteljorge Indianapolis


  1. Andrew Sams Indianapolis
  2. Ty Mcgeary West Liberty
  3. Brock Biddle Pitt-Johnstown
  4. Dominic Murphy St. Cloud State
  5. Job Ayala Uw-Parkside
  6. Josh Jones Mckendree
  7. Cade Mueller Augustana
  8. Trevor Turriff Minnesota State
  9. Max Bruss Mary
  10. Daniel Beemer Ashland
  11. Billy Higgins Nebraska-Kearney
  12. Joey Petrella Gannon


  1. Heath Gray Central Oklahoma
  2. Connor Craig West Liberty
  3. Dan Filipek Mckendree
  4. Caden Steffen Sw Minnesota State
  5. Marty Verhaeghe Fort Hays State
  6. Aidan Pasiuk Ashland
  7. Noah Curreri Queens
  8. Luke Mcgonigal Mercyhurst
  9. Anderson Salisbury Colorado Mines
  10. Austin Eldredge Nebraska-Kearney
  11. Kolby Kost Augustana
  12. Billy Pitzner St. Cloud State


  1. Dalton Abney Central Oklahoma
  2. Noah Ryan St. Cloud Stat
  3. Joel Liese Gannon
  4. Derek Blubaugh Indianapolis
  5. Gino Sita Alderson Broaddus
  6. Jordan Williams Glenville State
  7. Logan Kemp West Liberty
  8. Nick Mason Tiffin
  9. Walker Uhl Ashland
  10. Donnie Negus Colorado Mesa
  11. Rodsean Graham Uw-Parkside
  12. Matt Kaylor Mary


  1. Andrew Dunn Kutztown
  2. Ian Kuehl Mckendree
  3. Jacob Robb Mercyhurst
  4. Weston Hunt Colorado Mines
  5. Francesco Borsellino West Liberty
  6. Lee Herrington Nebraska-Kearney
  7. Steven Hajas Jr. Augustana
  8. Jake Swirple Minot State
  9. Darrell Mason Minnesota State
  10. Gavin Nye Colorado Pueblo
  11. Mason Watt Chadron State
  12. AJ Cooper Fort Hays State

View more college rankings