Augsburg hosts Wartburg in ‘Battle of the Burgs’ on Thursday

MINNEAPOLIS — The annual “Battle of the Burgs” men’s wrestling dual meet between small-college powers Augsburg University and Wartburg College makes its return after a year’s absence, being held on Thursday (1/27) at 7:30 p.m. at Augsburg’s Si Melby Hall.

The annual “Battle of the Burgs” dual meet features the two teams that have dominated NCAA Division III wrestling over the last three decades. Since 1995, every Division III national title has rested at either Augsburg or Wartburg, with defending national champion Augsburg winning 13 titles since 1991 and Wartburg winning 14 titles since 1996. With the NCAA Division III National Tournament not being held in either 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Augsburg will enter the 2022 championships as the “defending” national champion, having won the last NCAA tournament in 2019.

Wartburg leads the all-time dual-meet series with Augsburg by a 22-16 margin, with wins in the last four meetings.

In the latest National Wrestling Coaches Association Division III national rankings (Jan. 14), Wartburg is ranked No. 1 in the tournament poll and No. 6 in the dual-meet poll, while Augsburg is ranked No. 4 in the tournament poll and No. 8 in the dual-meet poll.

Watch Wartburg at Augsburg live on

Augsburg has six NWCA nationally-ranked wrestlers — No. 2-ranked 141-pounder Sam Stuhl (JR, Ellsworth, Wis./Ellsworth HS), No. 2-ranked 157-pounder Tyler Shilson (JR, Maple Grove, Minn./Centennial HS), No. 3-ranked 174-pounder Solomon Nielsen (SR, Luverne, Minn./Luverne HS), No. 7-ranked 285-pounder Tyler Kim (JR, Burnsville, Minn./Apple Valley HS), No. 9-ranked 197-pounder Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann (JR, Loyal, Wis./Marshfield HS) and No. 11-ranked 184-pounder Nick Rogge (SR, Eastman, Wis./Prairie du Chien HS).

Wartburg has nine NWCA nationally-ranked wrestlers — No. 1-ranked 184-pounder Kyle Briggs, No. 2-ranked 149-pounder Kris Rumph, No. 3-ranked 133-pounder Joe Pins, No. 5-ranked 174-pounder Zane Mulder, No. 8-ranked 141-pounder Zayren Terukina, No. 9-ranked 125-pounder Brady Kyner, No. 9-ranked 285-pounder Jordan Brandon, No. 11-ranked 197-pounder Kobe Woods and No. 11-ranked 157-pounder David Hollingsworth.

The “halftime” of Thursday’s meet will feature a reunion of five Augsburg legendary teams — the 1982 MIAC championship team, the 1992 MIAC champion and NCAA national runner-up team, the 1997 MIAC champion and NCAA national champion team, the 2002 MIAC champion, and NCAA national champion team and the 2012 NCAA Great Lakes Regional champion and NCAA national runner-up team.

Gameday Information

Check out Auggies Wrestling at and on Facebook and Twitter.

View More College News