Devos Wins Southern Scuffle Title

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. — Cade DeVos became the first South Dakota State wrestler to win an individual title at the Southern Scuffle, claiming the 174-pound title Sunday night to wrap up the two-day event at McKenzie Arena.

A sophomore from Altoona, Iowa, DeVos recorded a 3-2 decision over fourth-seeded Peyton Mocco of Missouri in the championship bout. After a scoreless first period, the second-seeded DeVos took a 1-0 lead early in the second stanza on an escape. Mocco tied the match seconds into the third period with an escape of his own, but DeVos countered with the lone takedown by either wrestler with 45 seconds remaining. Mocco escaped in the closing seconds for the final point.

DeVos advanced to the title tilt with a 6-2 decision over Brennan Swafford of Iowa during the afternoon session in improving to 17-2 on the season.

Two other Jackrabbits began the day with semifinal matches and recorded fourth-place finishes.

At 141 pounds, top-seeded Clay Carlson suffered his first loss of the season, dropping a 2-0 decision to No. 4 Allan Hart of Missouri. Carlson came back later in the session with a 6-4 victory over Vince Cornella of the Spartan Combat Regional Training Center but settled for a fourth-place finish after later withdrawing from the tournament.

Tanner Sloan, the fifth-seeded wrestler at 197 pounds, began the day with a 10-4 setback at the hands of top-seeded Rocky Elam of Missouri. He later posted a 4-0 decision over sixth-seeded Alan Clothier of Northern Colorado and wound up in fourth place after dropping an 8-6 decision to Cam Caffey of Michigan State in the night session.

Also wrestling on Sunday were 149-pounder Zach Price and 197-pounder Nick Casperson. Both wrestlers lost their consolation-round matches; Price fell 9-5 to West Virginia’s Jeff Boyd, while Casperson dropped a 7-3 decision to Andy Smith of Virginia Tech.

As a team, the Jackrabbits ended the tournament with sixth place with 76 points as Big 12 Conference squads held four of the top seven spots in the 30-team field. With five finalists, including two champions, Missouri easily won the team title with 175.5 points, followed by North Dakota State with 109.5.5 points and Michigan State with 94.5. Minnesota (85.5 points) and Cornell (85) rounded out the top five. Next behind SDSU was West Virginia with 69.5 points.

Southern Scuffle Results

The Jackrabbits return to dual action next Sunday (Jan. 9), hosting Wyoming and Northern Iowa in a triangular. Action begins at 11 a.m. at Frost Arena.
11 a.m. – Wyoming vs. Northern Iowa
12:30 p.m. – Wyoming at South Dakota State
2 p.m. – Northern Iowa at South Dakota State

Following is a complete listing of Jackrabbit results from the Southern Scuffle:

125: Tanner Jordan, So., St. Paris, Ohio (1-2 record)
• lost to #2 Patrick McKee, Minnesota, by major dec., 11-3
• major dec. Aedyn Concepcion, Gardner-Webb, 16-3
• lost to Brett Unger, unattached, by dec., 1-0
Jordan eliminated

133: Caleb Gross, So., Pound, Wis. (2-2 record)
• lost to #2 Codi Russell, Appalachian State, by major dec., 15-4
• def. Jackson Bradford, The Citadel, by fall 2:27
• def. Aidan Campbell, Little Rock, by fall 5:40
• lost to #6 Sean Carter, Appalachian State, by dec., 10-4
Gross eliminated

133: Trayton Anderson, So., Northfield, Minn. (0-2 record)
• lost to #4 Jackson Disario, Stanford, by fall 4:53
• lost to #3 Kellyn March, North Dakota State, by dec., 6-2
Anderson eliminated

141: #1 Clay Carlson, Jr., Willmar, Minn. (4-1 record)
• def. Heath Gonyer, Appalachian State, by fall 5:45
• tech. fall Luis Ramos, CSU Bakersfield, 25-8 (6:45)
• dec. Quinn Kinner, Rider, 9-4
• lost to #4 Allan Hart, Missouri, by dec., 2-0
• dec. Vince Cornella, Spartan Combat RTC, 6-4
Fourth Place — Carlson withdrew from tournament

149: #4 Zach Price, Jr., Johnston, Iowa (3-2 record)
• dec. Josh Brown, CSU Bakersfield, 4-3
• tech. fall Sebastian Collazo, The Citadel, 16-0 (2:12)
• dec. Eddie Homrock, Michigan State, 7-2
• lost to #5 Victor Voinovich, Oklahoma State, by dec., 5-3
• lost to Jeff Boyd, West Virginia, by dec., 9-5
Price eliminated

149: Alek Martin, Fr., St. Paris, Ohio (2-1 record)
• lost to Tyler Williams, Drexel, by dec., 6-2
• major dec. Corbin Dion, Gardner-Webb, 14-6
• tech. fall Sebastian Collazo, The Citadel, 18-0 (2:24)
Martin withdrew from tournament due to injury

149: Daniel Kimball, So., Buckingham, Iowa (2-2 record)
• lost to Cody Chittum, unattached, by dec., 10-5
• dec. Matthew Williams, Chattanooga, 6-1
• dec. Tyler Williams, Drexel, 5-3 [SV-1]
• lost to Jeff Boyd, West Virginia, by dec., 3-1 [SV-1]
Kimball eliminated

157: Kenny O’Neil, Jr., Prior Lake, Minn. (1-2 record)
• lost to #4 Chase Saldate, Michigan State, by dec., 2-0
• dec. Alec Bobchin, Rider, 4-1
• lost to Cole Nance, Bellarmine, by dec., 4-2
O’Neil eliminated

157: Cael Swensen, Fr., Plymouth, Minn. (1-2 record)
• dec. Lincoln Heck, Chattanooga, 8-3
• lost to Brock Mauller, Missouri, by dec., 6-1
• lost to Terrell Barraclough, Penn State, by fall 6:16
Swensen eliminated

165: Jack Thomsen, So., La Porte City, Iowa (2-2 record)
• lost to William Formato, Appalachian State, by major dec., 14-3
• dec. Noah Grover, Buffalo, 5-2
• dec. Clayton Ulrey, Virginia Tech, 8-5
• lost to Tyler Brennan, Little Rock, by dec., 11-8
Thomsen eliminated

174: #2 Cade DeVos, So., Altoona, Iowa (3-0 record)
• dec. Andrew Berreyesa, Cornell, 6-2
• major dec. Adrien Cramer, Maryland, 12-4
• major dec. Arthur Urias, CSU Bakersfield, 13-4
• dec. Brennan Swafford, Iowa, 6-2
• dec. #4 Peyton Mocco, Missouri, 3-2

184: Cade King, Jr., Waseca, Minn. (1-2 record)
• def. Barrett Blakely, Appalachian State, by fall 2:11
• lost to D.J. Parker, North Dakota State, by dec., 6-1
• lost to Chase Mielnik, Maryland, by dec., 6-5
King eliminated

197: #5 Tanner Sloan, Jr., Alburnett, Iowa (4-2 record)
• tech. fall Ben Stemmet, The Citadel, 15-0 (5:08)
• dec. Rjaron Smith, Maryland, 5-2
• dec. Garrett Joles, Minnesota, 6-1
• lost to #1 Rocky Elam, Missouri, by dec., 10-4
• dec. #6 Alan Clothier, Northern Colorado, 4-0
• lost to #3 Cam Caffey, Michigan State, by dec., 8-6
Fourth Place

197: Nick Casperson, Jr., Beresford, S.D. (1-1 record)
• dec. Andrew Stemmet, Stanford, 14-9
• lost to #1 Rocky Elam, Missouri, by tech. fall, 17-2 (4:04)
• lost to Andy Smith, Virginia Tech, by dec., 7-3
Casperson eliminated

285: #5 A.J. Nevills, Jr., Clovis, Calif. (2-2 record)
• def. Grayson Walthall, Chattanooga, by fall 4:04
• lost to Tyrie Houghton, North Carolina State, by dec., 6-4
• dec. Seth Nitzel, Missouri, 13-6
• lost to Owen Trephan, North Carolina State, by major dec., 12-4
Nevills eliminated

285: Bowen McConville, Jr., Renton, Wash. (1-2 record)
• lost to Seth Nevills, Penn State, by dec., 7-2
• dec. Nicco Colucci, Rutgers, 3-1
• lost to Peter Ming, Stanford, by dec., 8-2
McConville eliminated

Check out Jackrabbit Wrestling at and on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram.

View More College News