Minnesota State 26 Minot State 10

Mavericks Claim First Win of the Year With Victory Over Minot State

Minot, N.D. — 17th-rated Minnesota State wrestling team earned first win, by a 26-10 margin over Minot State in a Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference dual held in Minot, N.D. Friday evening.

The Mavericks won eight individual matches with junior Darrell Mason staying undefeated with a win in his heavyweight match.

In the first match of the day, Minnesota State senior Trenton McManus, who entered the afternoon rated-tenth in the nation at 125, dropped a 5-3 decision to Oscar Nellis.

Minnesota State junior Brock Luthens won by major decision (8-0) over Brandon Meikel at 133 and Minnesota State junior Kolbe O’Brien won by fall (1:30) over Kelby Armstrong at 141.

Three-time All-American Kyle Rathman, rated fifth in the country, won by decision over Shadi Mitwalli, 7-2, in the 149-lb. match and now stands 4-1 for the year. Maverick junior Cooper Siebrecht won by decision over Nathan Baca, 3-1 and at that point, the match score stood 16-3 in favor of the Mavericks.

Minot State’s Cannon Potts picked up a 10-8 decision over Minnesota State’s Michael Smith at 165. Eighth-rated Trevor Turriff is now 8-2 on the season after a major decision over Cayden White, 19-6 at 174. Gavin Christoffersen fell to Minot State’s Keegan Berry by major decision, 14-3 at 184, Dylan Butts picked up a 5-1 decision over Noe Garcia at 197.

Maverick junior heavyweight Darrell Mason upped his record to 8-0 on the season with a 5-3 victory over Jordan Will. In extra matches, at 184 Shane Gibson picked up a win over Joseph Lopez, 3-0. In the final match of the dual, at 285 Max Villnow fell to ninth-rated Jake Swirple, 5-3.

Next action for Minnesota State (1-1, 1-1 NSIC) is Jan. 29 with a road league dual at U-Mary.

#17 Minnesota State 26 Minot State 10
125 Oscar Nellis (Minot) decision over #10 Trenton McManus (MSU), 5-3 | 0-3
133 Brock Luthens (MSU) major decision over Brandon Meikel (Minot), 8-0 | 4-3
141 Kolbe O’Brien (MSU) won by fall over Kelby Armstrong (Minot), 1:30 | 10-3
149 #5 Kyle Rathman (MSU) decision over Shadi Mitwalli (Minot), 7-2 | 13-3
157 Cooper Siebrecht (MSU) decision over Nathan Baca (Minot), 3-1 | 16-3
165 Cannon Potts (Minot) decision over Michael Smith (MSU), 10-8 | 16-6
174 #8 Trevor Turriff (MSU) major decision over Cayden White (Minot), 19-6 | 20-6
184 Keegan Berry (Minot) major decision over Gavin Christoffersen (MSU), 14-3 | 20-10
197 Dylan Butts (MSU) decision over Noe Garcia (Minot), 5-1 | 23-10
285 #10 Darrell Mason (MSU) decision over Jordan Will (Minot), 5-3 | 26-10

184 Extra: Shane Gibson (MSU) decision over Joseph Lopez (Minot), 3-0
285 Extra: # 9 Jake Swirple (Minot) decision over Max Villnow (MSU), 5-3

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?