NWCA NCAA DII Rankings – January 21, 2022

MANHEIM, Penn.- The Brochos of Central Oklahoma held onto the top spot in NCAA Division II wrestling, in the latest edition of the NWCA Division II Coaches Poll, released Friday, Jan. 21.

Reigning National Champions St. Cloud State are hot on the heels of the Bronchos, however, closing the gap between the top two teams to just three points in this version of the poll. UCO maintained the top spot behind 109 total points from eight ranked wrestlers, while SCSU comes in with 106 points from nine individuals. Nebraska-Kearney moved from the five spot to #3, while West Liberty held at #4. McKendree rounds out the top five, moving from #3 in the previous poll.

The nine ranked Huskies, along with nine ranked from Nebraska-Kearney, lead the field. Both teams feature a #1, with Joey Bianchini from SCSU still atop the 141 rankings, while Sam Turner still holds the #1 spot at 149 for UNK. Central Oklahoma has eight ranked wrestlers, led by 133’s #1 in Tanner Cole, and back-to-back #1s at 184 and 197 in Heath Gray and Dalton Abney.

The lone new #1 in this edition of the rankings is a familiar face, with reigning National Champion Cole Laya of West Liberty moving back into the top spot at 125. James Wimer of Findlay (157), Gannon’s Alex Farenchak (165), Andrew Sams of Indianapolis (174), and Kutztown’s Andrew Dunn (285) round out the top-ranked wrestlers in NCAA Division II.

Thirty-four wrestlers in this ranking come from Super Region 5, along with eight teams in the Top 25. Super Region 6 comes in next with 24 ranked individuals and five teams ranked in the Top 25. Super Region 4 has six teams in the Top 25 and 23 total ranked wrestlers, including a nation’s best four #1s.

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference continued to lead all conferences with eight teams in D2’s Top 25, behind 34 ranked wrestlers. The Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association is next with 20 ranked individuals, including four #1s, while the Great Lakes Valley Conference, Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference and the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference all have four teams in the Top 25.

The next NWCA Division II Coaches Rankings will come out Feb. 18, prior to the start of the NCAA postseason.



  1. Cole Laya West Liberty
  2. Christian Mejia Mckendree
  3. Joe Arroyo Uw-Parkside
  4. Jaxson Rohman Augustana
  5. Dawson Collins Colorado Mesa
  6. Paxton Rosen Central Oklahoma
  7. Paxton Creese St. Cloud State
  8. Josh Portillo Nebraska-Kearney
  9. Isaiah Delacerda Adams State
  10. Trenton Mcmanus Minnesota State
  11. Nick Daggett Unc-Pembroke
  12. Evan Carrigan Newberry


  1. Tanner Cole Central Oklahoma
  2. Wesley Dawkins Nebraska-Kearney
  3. Garrett Vos St. Cloud State
  4. Collin Wickramaratna Kutztown
  5. Kaden Anderlik Upper Iowa
  6. Jack Huffman Augustana
  7. Collin Metzgar Colorado Mesa
  8. Reece Barnhardt Mary
  9. Patrick Allis Western Colorado
  10. Jonathan Andreatta Adams State
  11. Tanner Hitchcock Lindenwood
  12. Brandon Borlinghaus Drury


  1. Joey Bianchini St. Cloud State
  2. Branson Proudlock Findlay
  3. Colby Smith Lindenwood
  4. Nate Keim Central Oklahoma
  5. Josh Fuentes-Norikiyo San Francisco State
  6. Christian Small King
  7. Tate Murty Upper Iowa
  8. Peter Kuster Drury
  9. Sean Johnson American Int.
  10. Dean Noble Western Colorado
  11. Nick James Nebraska-Kearney
  12. Tyler Warner West Liberty


  1. Sam Turner Nebraska-Kearney
  2. Dominic Means Gannon
  3. Brik Filippo Central Oklahoma
  4. Noah Hermosillo Adams State
  5. Kyle Rathman Minnesota State
  6. Jacob Ealy Pitt-Johnstown
  7. Isiah Royal Newberry
  8. Wyatt Turnquist Northern State
  9. Logan Bailey Indianapolis
  10. Eric Faught Upper Iowa
  11. Craig Cook Davis & Elkins
  12. Carson Speelman Ashland


  1. James Wimer Findlay
  2. Colby Njos St. Cloud State
  3. Ty Lucas Central Oklahoma
  4. Dawson Combest Indianapolis
  5. Jacob Wasser Nebraska-Kearney
  6. Josiah Rider Adams State
  7. Chase Luensman Upper Iowa
  8. James Burks Northern State
  9. Mitch Dean Belmont Abbey
  10. Braydon Huber Mary
  11. Nathan Smith Pitt.-Johnstown
  12. Jojo Gonzalez American Int.


  1. Alex Farenchak Gannon
  2. Matt Malcom Nebraska-Kearney
  3. Shane Gantz Uw-Parkside
  4. Cory Peterson Mckendree
  5. Kameron Frame Newman
  6. James Penfold Lake Erie
  7. Nate Trepanier Lindenwood
  8. Dillon Keane Pitt.-Johnstown
  9. Drew Wiechers Ashland
  10. Will Kuster Drury
  11. Hunter Jump Central Oklahoma
  12. Devin Donovan St. Cloud State


  1. Andrew Sams Indianapolis
  2. Daniel Beemer Ashland
  3. Ty Mcgeary West Liberty
  4. Brock Biddle Pitt-Johnstown
  5. Dominic Murphy St. Cloud State
  6. Job Ayala Uw-Parkside
  7. Cade Mueller Augustana
  8. Trevor Turriff Minnesota State
  9. Max Bruss Mary
  10. Joey Petrella Gannon
  11. Dillon Walker Pitt.-Johnstown
  12. Caleb Spears Newberry


  1. Heath Gray Central Oklahoma
  2. Connor Craig West Liberty
  3. Dan Filipek Mckendree
  4. Caden Steffen Sw Minnesota State
  5. Austin Eldredge Nebraska-Kearney
  6. Aidan Pasiuk Ashland
  7. Billy Pitzner St. Cloud State
  8. Marty Verhaeghe Fort Hays State
  9. Noah Curreri Queens
  10. Luke Mcgonigal Mercyhurst
  11. Anderson Salisbury Colorado Mines
  12. Kolby Kost Augustana


  1. Dalton Abney Central Oklahoma
  2. Noah Ryan St. Cloud State
  3. Joel Liese Gannon
  4. Logan Kemp West Liberty
  5. Nick Mason Tiffin
  6. Derek Blubaugh Indianapolis
  7. Gino Sita Alderson Broaddus
  8. Donnie Negus Colorado Mesa
  9. Rodsean Graham Uw-Parkside
  10. Matt Kaylor Mary
  11. Hayden Prince Nebraska-Kearney
  12. Tereus Henry Fort Hays State


  1. Andrew Dunn Kutztown
  2. Kameron Teacher St. Cloud State
  3. Ian Kuehl Mckendree
  4. Jacob Robb Mercyhurst
  5. Weston Hunt Colorado Mines
  6. Francesco Borsellino West Liberty
  7. Lee Herrington Nebraska-Kearney
  8. Steven Hajas Jr. Augustana
  9. Jake Swirple Minot State
  10. Darrell Mason Minnesota State
  11. Mason Watt Chadron State
  12. Freddie Nixon Gannon