Gophers Crown Six Champs at Last Chance Open

AMES, Iowa – The University of Minnesota wrestling program sent twelve competitors to Iowa State to compete in the Last Chance Open, where the Gophers came home with a tournament-leading six individual champions.

Aaron Nagao took home the title at 133 pounds after sweeping the tournament with three bonus-point victories, including an 8-0 major decision victory over Iowa State’s Corey Cobanban in the finals.

Vance VomBaur won the title in his first action at 141 pounds by defeating Drew Woodley of Iowa State in back-to-back matches to win the best-of-three bracket.

At 157 pounds, Sebas Swiggum came back from a six-point deficit in the third period before securing the finals-winning takedown in sudden victory to defeat Jason Kraisser of Iowa State by a score of 10-8.

Jared Krattiger took first place at 174 pounds by going 2-0 en route to the finals before winning the tournament by default after Northern Iowa’s Lance Runyon medically forfeited out of the tournament.

Sam Skillings pinned his way through the 184-pound bracket to claim his Last Chance Open title, totaling only 4:50 in mat time between his two matches.

Garrett Joles rounded out the Gopher champions by sweeping his best-of-three bracket over a ranked opponent, as he defeated No. 27 Max Shaw of North Carolina twice with two decisions.

ISU Last Chance Open Results

Check out Gopher Wrestling at and on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

View More College News