Minnesota State 41 MSU-Moorhead 6

Mankato, Minn. — 17th-rated Minnesota State Mavericks down the winless MSU-Moorhead Dragons by a 41-6 margin in Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference dual held in Mankato, Minn. Friday evening.

With the victory, the Mavericks improve to (2-2, 2-2 NSIC), while the Dragons fall to (0-7,0-6 NSIC).

The Mavericks came away with nine wins in the ten matches of the night.

The dual began at 184 lbs., where Mike Smith won by a 7-0 major decision over Brett Graham. At 197 lbs., Dylan Butts defeated Steven Abbott by a 5-2 decision.

#10 Darrell Mason won by pinfall (1:47) over Same Grove to stay undefeated with a record of 10-0.

The Dragons then earned a win by forfeit at 125 lbs., then at 133 lbs., Brock Luthens defeated Cole Jones by major decision 14-4 to give the Mavericks a 17-6 lead.

At 141 lbs., Kolbe O’Brien pinned Hunter Hayes (3:41) to improve to a 6-1 record on the year. At 149lbs., Max Schwabe upped his record to 5-0 to stay undefeated with a 17-8 major decision over Ethan Kiehm.

The Mavericks then won the next three matches to win by a score of 41-6. Cooper Siebrecht found himself in a battle with Jacob Thomas in the 157-pound bout, ultimately winning by decision 5-2. At 165 lbs., Brody Nielsen pinned Payton Ringling (3:25). In the final match of the night, Trevor Turriff who holds the No. 8 ranking at 174lbs., defeated Justin Dravis by technical fall 18-3.

Next action for Minnesota State (2-2, 2-2 NSIC) is Feb. 5 with a home doubleheader vs. Northern State at 5:00 p.m. and St. Cloud State at 7:00 p.m. MSU-Moorhead is at Upper Iowa at 4:00 p.m. on Saturday.

#17 Minnesota State 41 MSU-Moorhead 6
184 Mike Smith (MSU) major decision over Brett Graham (MSUM), 7-0 | 4-0
197 Dylan Butts (MSU) decision over Steven Abbott (MSUM), 5-2 | 7-0
285 #10 Darrell Mason (MSU) won by fall over Sam Grove (MSUM), 1:47 | 13-0
125 Clayson Mele (MSUM) over Unknown (For.) | 13-6
133 Brock Luthens (MSU) major decision over Cole Jones (MSUM), 14-4 | 17-6
141 Kolbe O’Brien (MSU) won by fall over Hunter Hayes (MSUM), 3:41 | 23-6
149 Max Schwabe (MSU) major decision over Ethan Kiehm (MSUM), 17-8 | 27-6
157 Cooper Siebrecht (MSU) decision over Jacob Thomas (MSUM), 5-2 | 30-6
165 Brody Nielsen (MSU) won by fall over Payton Ringling (MSUM), 3:25 | 36-6
174 #8 Trevor Turriff (MSU) won by tech. fall over Justin Dravis (MSUM), 18-3 | 41-6

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?