NWCA NCAA DII Rankings – February 18, 2022

MANHEIM, Penn.- In the final NCAA Division II Coaches Rankings prior to the postseason, Central Oklahoma held on to the top spot with 119 total points. The Bronchos feature three of Division II’s number one wrestlers and widened their gap on reigning National Champions St. Cloud State with Super Regionals looming next weekend.

The Huskies stay in the top spot with 103 total points. The entire top five was unchanged from the last poll, with Nebraska-Kearney (100 points), West Liberty (58 points), and McKendree (56 points) representing the third, fourth and fifth spots yet again.

There are four new number ones in this edition of the poll, with Brik Filippo of Central Oklahoma taking over the top spot at 149 and 2019 National Champion and 2021 National Finalist Connor Craig moving to #1 at 184. A pair of UNK Lopers took over the top spots at 165 and 174, with 2019 National Champion Matt Malcom sitting atop the newest 165 rankings, while teammate Austin Eldredge takes the top spot at 174 after coming down from competing at 184 earlier this season.

Both Central Oklahoma and Nebraska-Kearney have nine ranked wrestlers, the most of any teams in the poll. UCO features three #1s, with Tanner Cole at 133 and Dalton Abney at 197 joining Filippo. In addition to the top-ranked Bronchos and Lopers, West Liberty also has multiple #1s, with Cole Laya at 125 joining Craig. Joey Bianchini of St. Cloud State remains at #1 at 141, returning National Champion James Wimer is still #1 at 157, and 2019 National Champion Andrew Dunn is still at the top of the 285 rankings.

Super Region 5 still holds the nation’s most ranked wrestlers, with 28. Super Region 4 isn’t far behind in this edition of the poll, however, with 26 ranked wrestlers, including the three UCO #1s. Super Region 5 features the most teams ranked in the Top 25, with seven, while Super Region 5 is next with five teams in the Top 25.

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference has seven teams in the Top 25, and 28 total ranked wrestlers to lead the conference race. The Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference put four teams in the Top 25 in this poll, while the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association has 22 ranked wrestlers.

The six NCAA Division II Super Regional tournaments will be held Feb. 26. Super Region 1 will be contested at PItt.-Johnstown, Super Region 2 will be at UNC-Pembroke, Super Region 3 will be at West Liberty, Super Region 4 will be at Lindenwood, Super Region 5 will be at Minnesota Moorhead, and Super Region 6 will be at Colorado Mesa. The top three placers in each weight class at each regional will meet at the 2022 NCAA Division II National Championships in St. Louis at Chaifetz Arena March 11-12.


  1. Cole Laya West Liberty
  2. Christian Mejia Mckendree
  3. Dawson Collins Colorado Mesa
  4. Joe Arroyo Uw-Parkside
  5. Paxton Rosen Central Oklahoma
  6. Paxton Creese St. Cloud State
  7. Josh Portillo Nebraska-Kearney
  8. Nick Daggett Unc-Pembroke
  9. Isaiah Delacerda Adams State
  10. Evan Carrigan Newberry
  11. Tyshawn White Shippensburg
  12. Matt Wilde Kutztown


  1. Tanner Cole Central Oklahoma
  2. Wesley Dawkins Nebraska-Kearney
  3. Garrett Vos St. Cloud State
  4. Kaden Anderlik Upper Iowa
  5. Jack Huffman Augustana
  6. Jonathan Andreatta Adams State
  7. Collin Metzgar Colorado Mesa
  8. Reece Barnhardt Mary
  9. Eric Bartos Mercyhurst
  10. Collin Wickramaratna Kutztown
  11. Tanner Hitchcock Lindenwood
  12. Majid Corbett Limestone


  1. Joey Bianchini St. Cloud State
  2. Colby Smith Lindenwood
  3. Branson Proudlock Findlay
  4. Nate Keim Central Oklahoma
  5. Josh Fuentes-Norikiyo San Francisco State
  6. Christian Small King
  7. Peter Kuster Drury
  8. Sean Johnson American Int.
  9. Nick James Nebraska-Kearney
  10. Zeth Brower Lander
  11. Kolton Roth Northern State
  12. Tate Murty Upper Iowa


  1. Brik Filippo Central Oklahoma
  2. Sam Turner Nebraska-Kearney
  3. Isiah Royal Newberry
  4. Noah Hermosillo Adams State
  5. Jacob Ealy Pitt-Johnstown
  6. Dominic Means Gannon
  7. Kyle Rathman Minnesota State
  8. Wyatt Turnquist Northern State
  9. Craig Cook Davis & Elkins
  10. Darick Lapaglia Central Missouri
  11. Eric Faught Upper Iowa
  12. Logan Bailey Indianapolis


  1. James Wimer Findlay
  2. Josiah Rider Adams State
  3. Anthony Herrera St. Cloud State
  4. Chase Luensman Upper Iowa
  5. John Ridle Central Missouri
  6. Ty Lucas Central Oklahoma
  7. Braydon Huber Mary
  8. Dawson Combest Indianapolis
  9. Jojo Gonzalez American Int.
  10. James Burks Northern State
  11. Nathan Smith Pitt.-Johnstown
  12. Nick Young Gannon


  1. Matt Malcom Nebraska-Kearney
  2. Shane Gantz Uw-Parkside
  3. Cory Peterson Mckendree
  4. James Penfold Lake Erie
  5. Mitch Dean Belmont Abbey
  6. Nate Trepanier Lindenwood
  7. Dillon Keane Pitt.-Johnstown
  8. Kameron Frame Newman
  9. Drew Wiechers Ashland
  10. Will Kuster Drury
  11. Hunter Jump Central Oklahoma
  12. Hunter Mullin Western Colorado


  1. Austin Eldredge Nebraska-Kearney
  2. Cade Mueller Augustana
  3. Trevor Turriff Minnesota State
  4. Andrew Sams Indianapolis
  5. Daniel Beemer Ashland
  6. Ty Mcgeary West Liberty
  7. Dominic Murphy St. Cloud State
  8. Dillon Walker Mercyhurst
  9. Brock Biddle Pitt-Johnstown
  10. Job Ayala Uw-Parkside
  11. Caleb Spears Newberry
  12. Josh Jones Mckendree


  1. Connor Craig West Liberty
  2. Heath Gray Central Oklahoma
  3. Dan Filipek Mckendree
  4. Caden Steffen Sw Minnesota State
  5. Aidan Pasiuk Ashland
  6. Billy Pitzner St. Cloud State
  7. Billy Higgins Nebraska-Kearney
  8. Anderson Salisbury Colorado Mines
  9. Marty Verhaeghe Fort Hays State
  10. Luke Mcgonigal Mercyhurst
  11. Jaquez Bostic Limestone
  12. Noah Curreri Queens


  1. Dalton Abney Central Oklahoma
  2. Noah Ryan St. Cloud State
  3. Joel Liese Gannon
  4. Derek Blubaugh Indianapolis
  5. Gino Sita Alderson Broaddus
  6. Donnie Negus Colorado Mesa
  7. Hayden Prince Nebraska-Kearney
  8. Daniel Bishop Augustana
  9. Rodsean Graham Uw-Parkside
  10. Jordan Williams Glenville State
  11. Logan Kemp West Liberty
  12. Walker Uhl Ashland


  1. Andrew Dunn Kutztown
  2. Kameron Teacher St. Cloud State
  3. Ian Kuehl Mckendree
  4. Jacob Robb Mercyhurst
  5. Shawn Streck Central Oklahoma
  6. Weston Hunt Colorado Mines
  7. Francesco Borsellino West Liberty
  8. Darrell Mason Minnesota State
  9. Mason Watt Chadron State
  10. Lee Herrington Nebraska-Kearney
  11. Freddie Nixon Gannon
  12. Zach Shaffer Unc-Pembroke

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?