Wisconsin-Parkside 21 Southwest Minnesota State 12

Early energy not enough as Mustangs fall to No. 8 Parkside

MARSHALL, Minn.- The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team (1-6, 1-6 NSIC) suffered a 21-12 loss at the hands of the No. 8-ranked University of Wisconsin-Parkside (4-1, 4-1 NSIC) inside the PE Gym on Friday night.

Jackson Stauffacher would open the match with a tall task, wrestling his second consecutive top-five opponent, this time in No. 1/No. 3-ranked Joe Arroyo. After falling behind 3-1 late in the third period, Stauffacher would create a spark, recording a takedown before the horn to send the match into sudden victory.

After avoiding a couple of tough situations, Stauffacher would prevail, taking Arroyo head-on and putting him on his back to pick up the victory and electrify the crowd.

Hunter Pfantz would keep it rolling at 133, defeating Joey Roti 7-2, powered by four near-fall points in the second period to give SMSU a 6-0 lead.

Justin Sampson would come incredibly close to keeping the momentum, going into sudden victory tied 2-2, but a late takedown would give Parkside the win.

Parkside would win the next four matches, with three coming by major decision, to march the Rangers to a commanding 18-6 lead.

Caden Steffen would get the Mustangs back in the win column, going to sudden victory tied 1-1 before recording a takedown to start to chip away at the Parkside lead, But Dillon McEachran would lose by decision after fighting down to the very end of the match to give Parkside the victory. Jacob Dykes would close the night on a high note, winning a 5-2 decision to bring us to our final score.

“Another great day in the PE Gym.” Said head coach Chayse Jackson. “It was overwhelming to see the support of the local community. I am proud of our fight and look to make just a few small adjustments before we take on Mankato this Sunday at home.”

No. 8 Wisconsin-Parkside 21, Southwest Minnesota State 12
125| Jackson Stauffacher wins by decision (5-3, SV-1) over No. 3 Joe Arroyo, SMSU 3, UWP 0
133| Hunter Pfantz wins by decision (7-2) over Joey Roti, SMSU 6, UWP 0
141| Cayden Henschel wins by decision (4-2, SV-1) over Justin Sampson, SMSU 6, UWP 3
149| Nathan Hensley wins by major decision (15-4) over Robert Shields, UWP 7, SMSU 6
157| Ben Durocher wins by decision (10-3) over Lucas Hodges, UWP 10, SMSU 6
165| No. 3 Shane Gantz wins by major decision (14-4) over Elijah Sterner, UWP 14, SMSU 6
174| No. 6 Job Ayala wins by major decision (9-0) over Carter Marx, UWP 18, SMSU 6
184| No. 4 Caden Steffen wins by decision (3-1, SV-1) over Reece Woracheck, UWP 18, SMSU 9
197| No. 9 Rodsean Graham wins by decision (11-7) over Dillon McEachran, UWP 21, SMSU 9
285| Jacob Dykes wins by decision (5-2) over Nate Lloyd, UWP 21, SMSU 12

184| Kevin Bostwick wins by fall (3:35) over Edgar Heredia
285| Lloyd Reynolds wins by fall (6:48) over Neil Hanson

Check out Mustangs Wrestling at smsumustangs.com and on Twitter.

View More College News