Minnesota State Duo Claim Individual National Titles

St. Louis, Mo. — A pair of Minnesota State’s wrestlers at the 2022 NCAA Division II Championships in St. Louis, Mo., are coming home as national champions.

Senior Trevor Turriff (De Pere, Wis.) claimed the national title at 174-lbs., and Junior Darrell Mason (Chicago, Ill) claimed the national title at 285-lbs. The last time two Mavericks brought home Individual l titles was in 2008, Jason Rhoten and Andy Pickar.

Turriff seeded fourth in the 174-lb. division, picked up a major decision (11-3) over Brock Biddle of Pitt-Johnstown before downing Ty McGeary of West Liberty, (7-2). In the semifinals, Turriff won in sudden victory over Austin Eldridge of Nebraska-Kearney (SV-1, 9-7) and advanced to the 174-lb championship match for the second straight year. In the championship match, Turriff claimed the title beating Andrew Sams of Indianapolis by decision (3-2). Finished the season 21-3 claiming All-American honors as well for the second straight year.

With today’s results, Minnesota State finished seventh in the team standings with 39 points.

1 Nebraska-Kearney 127.0
2 Central Oklahoma 86.0
3 West Liberty 75.5
4 St. Cloud State 67.0
5 Adams State 65.0
6 Indianapolis 48.5
7 Minnesota State 39.0
8 Colorado Mesa 31.0
9 McKendree 30.5
10 Gannon 30.0

With two national champions and All-Americans this year, Minnesota State head coach Jim Makovsky has had 10 National Champions and 95 NCAA All-Americans over the course of his 29 years with the Mavericks.

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at msumavericks.com and on Twitter.

View More College News