NWCA Releases Final Division II Rankings Prior to Nationals

MANHEIM, PA – The field has been set for the 2022 NCAA Division II National Championships, with the top 10 ranked wrestlers in each weight class making up the final NWCA Division II Coaches Rankings of the season.

The final rankings represent the top 8 seeds and top 10 ranked wrestlers for the upcoming NCAA Division II National Championships in St. Louis March 11-12. Nebraska-Kearney moved into the #1 spot for the first time this season, amassing 115 total points behind an NCAA DII-high nine National Qualifiers. Central Oklahoma moved to the #2 spot with 111 points behind seven National Qualifiers, with 2021 National Champion St. Cloud in the three-spot with 95 points from seven National Qualifiers. West Liberty held in the #4 spot, while Indianapolis moved up to the #5 ranking.

Nebraska-Kearney, Central Oklahoma, St. Cloud State and West Liberty all feature two top-seeded individuals, with the top-ranked Lopers having #1s at 165 in prior National Champion Matt Malcom and at 174 in Austin Eldredge. Central Oklahoma features #1 Tanner Cole at 133 and returning National Finalist and top-seeded Dalton Abney at 197. The Huskies’ Joey Bianchini went wire-to-wire at #1 at 141, while teammate Anthony Herrera goes into the NCAA tournament as #1 at 157. Defending National Champion Cole Laya is #1 at 125, while 2019 National Champion and returning National Finalist Connor Craig is the top seed at 184.

The remaining two top seeds are returning 141 National Champion Isiah Royal of Newberry at 149, and 2019 National Champion Andrew Dunn of Kutztown at 285.

Super Region five features six teams ranked in the top 25 behind 24 ranked individuals, accounting for almost a quarter of the field. Super Region one also has six teams in the Top 25, with 19 ranked individuals. Super Region four is next with 20 ranked individuals and five teams ranked in the Top 25.

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference tops the league race, with 20 ranked individuals and five teams in the Top 25. The MIAA is next with 18 ranked individuals, including four #1 seeds, and three teams in the Top 25. Both Conference Carolinas/Southern Athletic Conference and the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference have four teams in the Top 25.

The 180 National Qualifiers will vie for the 10 individual titles and the overall team title next weekend in St. Louis, March 11-12 at Chaifetz Arena.

NWCA Tournament Poll Methodology


  1. Cole Laya West Liberty
  2. Paxton Rosen Central Oklahoma
  3. Paxton Creese St. Cloud State
  4. Christian Mejia Mckendree
  5. Nick Daggett Unc-Pembroke
  6. Josh Portillo Nebraska-Kearney
  7. Joe Arroyo Uw-Parkside
  8. Jacob Dunlop Gannon
  9. Dawson Collins Colorado Mesa
  10. Evan Carrigan Newberry


  1. Tanner Cole Central Oklahoma
  2. Wesley Dawkins Nebraska-Kearney
  3. Jack Huffman Augustana
  4. Jonathan Andreatta Adams State
  5. Collin Wickramaratna Kutztown
  6. Reece Barnhardt Mary
  7. Garrett Vos St. Cloud State
  8. Collin Metzgar Colorado Mesa
  9. Eric Bartos Mercyhurst
  10. Tanner Hitchcock Lindenwood


  1. Joey Bianchini St. Cloud State
  2. Branson Proudlock Findlay
  3. Colby Smith Lindenwood
  4. Zeth Brower Lander
  5. Christian Small King
  6. Nick James Nebraska-Kearney
  7. Peter Kuster Drury
  8. Keaten Schorr Augustana
  9. Tyler Warner West Liberty
  10. Caleb Morris Pitt.-Johnstown


  1. Isiah Royal Newberry
  2. Brik Filippo Central Oklahoma
  3. Noah Hermosillo Adams State
  4. Jacob Ealy Pitt-Johnstown
  5. Sam Turner Nebraska-Kearney
  6. Craig Cook Davis & Elkins
  7. Nick Novak St. Cloud State
  8. Josh Laubach Alderson Broaddus
  9. Dominic Means Gannon
  10. Wyatt Turnquist Northern State


  1. Anthony Herrera St. Cloud State
  2. John Ridle Central Missouri
  3. Josiah Rider Adams State
  4. Jojo Gonzalez American Int.
  5. Ty Lucas Central Oklahoma
  6. Ryan Wheeler Colorado Mesa
  7. Dawson Combest Indianapolis
  8. Braydon Huber Mary
  9. Nick Young Gannon
  10. Chance Esmont Ashland


  1. Matt Malcom Nebraska-Kearney
  2. Shane Gantz Uw-Parkside
  3. Mitch Dean Belmont Abbey
  4. Jack Eiteljorge Indianapolis
  5. Dillon Keane Pitt.-Johnstown
  6. Cory Peterson Mckendree
  7. James Penfold Lake Erie
  8. Nate Trepanier Lindenwood
  9. Drew Wiechers Ashland
  10. Miles Fitzgerald Augustana


  1. Austin Eldredge Nebraska-Kearney
  2. Cade Mueller Augustana
  3. Andrew Sams Indianapolis
  4. Trevor Turriff Minnesota State
  5. Ty Mcgeary West Liberty
  6. Daniel Beemer Ashland
  7. Joseph Petrella Gannon
  8. Job Ayala Uw-Parkside
  9. Dillon Walker Mercyhurst
  10. Brock Biddle Pitt-Johnstown


  1. Connor Craig West Liberty
  2. Heath Gray Central Oklahoma
  3. Billy Higgins Nebraska-Kearney
  4. Dan Filipek Mckendree
  5. Caden Steffen Sw Minnesota State
  6. Marty Verhaeghe Fort Hays State
  7. Anderson Salisbury Colorado Mines
  8. Jaquez Bostic Limestone
  9. Noah Curreri Queens
  10. Matt Weinberg Kutztown


  1. Dalton Abney Central Oklahoma
  2. Noah Ryan St. Cloud State
  3. Derek Blubaugh Indianapolis
  4. Brian Kennerly Kutztown
  5. Nick Mason Tiffin
  6. Hayden Prince Nebraska-Kearney
  7. Joel Liese Gannon
  8. Gino Sita Alderson Broaddus
  9. Donnie Negus Colorado Mesa
  10. Walker Uhl Ashland


  1. Andrew Dunn Kutztown
  2. Darrell Mason Minnesota State
  3. Shawn Streck Central Oklahoma
  4. Kameron Teacher St. Cloud State
  5. Ian Kuehl Mckendree
  6. Lee Herrington Nebraska-Kearney
  7. Jacob Robb Mercyhurst
  8. Francesco Borsellino West Liberty
  9. Weston Hunt Colorado Mines
  10. Zach Shaffer Unc-Pembroke