Sloan moves on to 197-pound final

TULSA, Okla. — Tanner Sloan moved on to the 197-pound finals and five other South Dakota State wrestlers will compete in placing matches after the first day of competition at the Big 12 Wrestling Championship Saturday at BOK Center.

The second-seeded Sloan ran his winning streak to 15 matches with three wins in Saturday’s two sessions. The junior from Alburnett, Iowa, pinned Kayne Hutchison of Air Force in the first period of their opening-round match, then posted a 5-1 decision over Alan Clothier of Northern Colorado later in the opening session.

Saturday night, Sloan posted an 8-0 major decision over sixth-seeded Owen Pentz of North Dakota State to earn his second trip to a Big 12 final. Sloan will face top-seeded Stephen Buchanan of Wyoming in the championship session, which will begin at 7 p.m. Sunday.

Sloan finished as Big 12 runner-up to West Virginia’s Noah Adams in 2020, and has secured his third consecutive NCAA berth.

Three other Jackrabbit wrestlers lost in the semifinals, most notably returning All-American and second-seeded Clay Carlson in the 141-pound weight class. After defeating Andrew Alirez of Northern Colorado twice during the regular season, Alirez turned the tables Saturday night by winning a 5-3 decision. Carlson will be in line to finish as high as third as he locked up a return trip to nationals in a competitive weight class that was awarded seven automatic bids.

The lone SDSU wrestler to receive an opening-round bye, Carlson scored a 6-2 decision over Darren Green of Wyoming for his 28th win of the season that earned him a spot in the semifinals.

Missouri’s Peyton Mocco also exacted some revenge against a Jackrabbit wrestler at 174 pounds. SDSU’s Cade DeVos defeated Mocco in the championship match at the Southern Scuffle in January, but prevented DeVos from generating any offense Saturday night by notching a 2-0 victory.

Earlier in the day, DeVos tallied a pair of victories by decision to advance to the semifinals and secure a return trip to the NCAAs. The sophomore from Altoona, Iowa, downed Air Force’s Sam Wolf, 5-2, in the opening round, followed by a 3-0 shutout of Iowa State’s Joel Devine in the quarterfinals.

At heavyweight, A.J. Nevills was pinned in the first period of his semifinal match against top-seeded Wyatt Hendrickson of Air Force. Nevills earned a berth in the semifinals with a pair of one-point victories, opening with a 3-2 victory against Utah Valley’s Chase Trussell before outlasting West Virginia’s Michael Wolfgram, 5-4, in the quarterfinals.

Three other Jackrabbits will wrestle for seventh place after winning their first consolation matches Saturday night. Gabriel Tagg defeated Garett Lautzenheiser of West Virginia, 7-2, before dropping a 12-10 overtime decision to Air Force’s Sidney Flores. Tagg trailed 7-2 to Flores entering the third period before rallying to tie the match at 10-all at the end of regulation.

Tanner Cook gutted out a 9-4 win over fourth-seeded Travis Wittlake in the 165-pound class, but fell one point short in his next match against Oklahoma’s Joseph Grello, 7-6.

At 157 pounds, Kenny O’Neil remained in contention with a 4-2 victory over Jaxon Garouette of Utah Valley, but was stopped by Jarrett Jacques of Missouri, 5-3.

After Day 1, the Jackrabbits rank in a tie for seventh in the team standings with North Dakota State.


125: Tanner Jordan, So., St. Paris, Ohio (0-2 record)
• lost by dec. to #2 Taylor LaMont, Utah Valley, 3-1 [SV-1]
• lost by major dec. to #8 Jace Koelzer, Northern Colorado, 11-2
Jordan eliminated

133: #3 Gabriel Tagg, So., Lodi, Ohio (1-2 record)
• lost by dec. to Connor Brown, Missouri, 7-4
• dec. Garett Lautzenheiser, West Virginia, 7-2
• lost by dec. to Sidney Flores, Air Force, 12-10 [SV-1]
• Seventh Place: vs. Connor Brown, Missouri

141: #2 Clay Carlson, Jr., Willmar, Minn. (1-1 record)
• First-round bye
• dec. #7 Darren Green, Wyoming, 6-2
• lost by dec. to #3 Andrew Alirez, Northern Colorado, 5-3
• Consolation Semifinal: vs. Jacob Butler, Oklahoma

149: Daniel Kimball, So., Buckingham, Iowa (0-2 record)
• lost by dec. to #1 Kaden Gfeller, Oklahoma State, by fall 4:12
• lost by dec. to Dylan Martinez, Air Force, 9-3 [SV-1]
Kimball eliminated

157: Kenny O’Neil, Jr., Prior Lake, Minn. (1-2 record)
• lost to #7 Derek Holschlag, Northern Iowa, 4-1
• dec. #8 Jaxon Garoutte, Utah Valley, 4-2
• lost by dec. to #4 Jarrett Jacques, Missouri, 5-3
• Seventh Place: vs. Alex Hornfeck, West Virginia

165: #6 Tanner Cook, So., Ilion, N.Y. (1-2 record)
• lost by dec. to Danny Snediker, Utah Valley, 9-4
• dec. #4 Travis Wittlake, Oklahoma State, 9-4
• lost by dec. to #8 Joe Grello, Oklahoma, 7-6
• Seventh Place: vs. Nick Knutson, Northern Colorado

174: #2 Cade DeVos, So., Altoona, Iowa (2-1 record)
• dec. Sam Wolf, Air Force, 5-2
• dec. #7 Joel Devine, Iowa State, 3-0
• lost by dec. to #6 Peyton Mocco, Missouri, 2-0
• Consolation Semifinal: vs. #5 Hayden Hastings, Wyoming

184: #5 Cade King, Jr., Waseca, Minn. (0-2 record)
• lost by dec. to Anthony Carman, West Virginia, 5-2
• lost by dec. to #3 Tate Samuelson, Wyoming, 4-2
King eliminated

197: #2 Tanner Sloan, Jr., Alburnett, Iowa (3-0 record)
• def. Kayne Hutchison, Air Force, by fall 2:25
• dec. #7 Alan Clothier, Northern Colorado, 5-1
• major dec. #6 Owen Pentz, North Dakota State, 8-0
• Championship: vs. #1 Stephen Buchanan, Wyoming

285: #4 A.J. Nevills, Jr., Clovis, Calif. (2-1 record)
• dec. Chase Trussell, Utah Valley, 3-2
• dec. #5 Michael Wolfgram, West Virginia, 4-3
• lost to #1 Wyatt Hendrickson, Air Force, by fall
• Consolation Semifinal: vs. #2 Zach Elam, Missouri


  1. Missouri – 109.5
  2. Oklahoma – 93.5
  3. Oklahoma State – 90
  4. Northern Iowa – 85
  5. Iowa State – 82.5
  6. West Virginia – 56
  7. South Dakota St. – 54
  8. North Dakota St. – 54
  9. Wyoming – 43
  10. Air Force – 34.5
  11. Northern Colorado – 31.5
  12. Utah Valley – 30.0

125: #1 Killian Cardinale (West Virginia) vs. #3 Brody Teske (Northern Iowa)
133: #1 Daton Fix (Oklahoma State) vs. #2 Kyle Biscoglia (Northern Iowa)
141: #3 Andrew Alirez (Northern Colorado) vs. #4 Allan Hart (Missouri)
149: #1 Kaden Gfeller (Oklahoma State) vs. #2 Willie McDougald (Oklahoma)
157: #1 David Carr (Iowa State) vs. #2 Jared Franek (North Dakota State)
165: #1 Keegan O’Toole (Missouri) vs. #2 Peyton Hall (West Virginia)
174: #1 Dustin Plott (Oklahoma State) vs. #6 Peyton Mocco (Missouri)
184: #1 Parker Keckeisen (Northern Iowa) vs. #6 Jeremiah Kent (Missouri)
197: #1 Stephen Buchanan (Wyoming) vs. #2 Tanner Sloan (South Dakota State)
285: #1 Wyatt Hendrickson (Air Force) vs. #7 Luke Surber (Oklahoma State)

Check out Jackrabbit Wrestling at and on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram.

View More College News