Five Mavericks Earn NWCA Scholar All-America Honors

Manheim, Pa. — A total of five Minnesota State wrestlers have been named National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Scholar All-Americans for their efforts on the mat and in the classroom.

Junior Shane Gibson, senior Trenton McManus, sophomore Josh Piechowski, senior Cooper Siebrecht, and senior Trevor Turriff all received the honor.

A total of 314 student-athletes from 57 institutions were honored individually. Of the 314 honorees, 95 wrestled at the 2022 NCAA DII national championships this year. Including Minnesota State’s Trevor Turriff, seven of this year’s national champions were named Scholar All-Americans.

In order for a student-athlete to be nominated to the Division II Scholar All-American Team, he must have a minimum 3.4 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale, with that benchmark at 3.2 for those who qualified for the 2020 NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships. The athlete must also have competed in a minimum of five dates of competition.

Minnesota State finished its 2021-22 season with a seventh-place finish at this year’s national tournament.

2022 Scholar All-Americans | 2022 Scholar All-America Teams

Check out Mavericks Wrestling at and on Twitter.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?