Augustana Closes Out 2021-22 Season at Year End Banquet

SIOUX FALLS, S.D.–Augustana wrestling closed the 2021-22 season at the Year End Banquet in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, on Saturday. The Vikings celebrated a successful season that saw many wrestlers earn athletic and academic accolades.

Seven Vikings earned NWCA Scholar All-American honors:

  • Daniel Bishop
  • Hunter Burnett
  • Jack Huffman
  • Kage Lenger
  • Cade Mueller
  • Jaxson Rohman
  • Tyler Wagener

Eight NCAA National Qualifiers:

  • Jaxson Rohman
  • Jack Huffman
  • Keaten Schorr
  • Hunter Burnett
  • Tyler Wagener
  • Miles Fitzgerald
  • Cade Mueller
  • Steven Hajas

The Vikings finished the regular season as the NSIC Runners-up. At the NCAA Super Region V tournament, two Vikings became regional champions in Jack Huffman at 133 pounds and Cade Mueller at 174 pounds. Four wrestlers took second place at the regional tournament and one wrestler finished third to qualify for the NCAA National Championships.

Augustana went 8-4 overall in dual action and 8-1 in DII dual action.

Kraig Presler Hardest Worker Award: Miles Fitzgerald

Don Lubbert Most Improved Award: Miles Fitzgerald

Brian Parlet Most Valuable: Jack Huffman

Redshirt of the Year: Connor Simmonds

Ken Bellmard Freshman of the Year: Jaxson Rohman

Viking Purple Heart: Steven Hajas

Tom Meester Intensity Award: Zach Peterson

Booster of the Year: Pete Haman

Viking Leadership Award: Brandon Carroll

Sam Herriman Most Takedowns: Jaxson Rohman

Koln Knight Most Wins Award: Miles Fitzgerald

Brent Henriksen Academic Wrestler of the Year: Daniel Bishop

Jon Lundberg Most Falls Award: Derek Werner

Senior of the Year: Keaten Schorr

Most Technical Falls: Daniel Bishop

Most Near Falls: Daniel Bishop

Check out Vikings Wrestling at and on Twitter and Facebook.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?