Carlson, Franek, Bishop, Rathman, Turriff, Vos, and Shilson named to CoSIDA Academic All-District Team

Seven area wrestlers were named to the 2021-22 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-District® Men’s At-Large Team, selected by College Sports Information Directors. CoSIDA Academic Teams recognize the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances in athletic competition and in the classroom.

Clay Carlson of South Dakota State, Jared Franek of North Dakota State, Daniel Bishop of Augustana, Kyle Rathman of Minnesota State, Trevor Turriff of Minnesota State
Garrett Vos of St. Cloud State, and Tyler Shilson of Augsburg have been selected as Academic All-District® honorees.

Honorees selected first-team Academic All-District® will advance to the CoSIDA Academic All-America® ballot. Academic All-America® honorees will be announced in June.

The full Academic All-District Men’s At-Large Team release can be VIEWED HERE.

Clay Carlson

Clay Carlson, South Dakota State University
A native of Willmar, Minnesota, Carlson completed his junior year with a 3.91 cumulative grade-point average while majoring in animal science and pre-veterinary medicine. He was honored as the Big 12 Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row following the 2021-22 season. On the mat, Carlson is a two-time NCAA qualifier who earned All-America honors with an eighth-place finish in the 141-pound weight class in 2021. He has compiled a 74-31 career record, including a 33-6 mark during the 2021-22 campaign.

Jared Franek

Jared Franek, North Dakota State University
Franek, a junior 157-pound wrestler for the Bison, has a 4.00 grade-point average majoring in sport management with a minor in business administration. It is a first-time honor for Franek, who was the recipient of the Elite 90 award for the 2022 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship earlier this year. He was also named to the Academic All-Big 12 team. The Harwood, North Dakota native was 25-5 in the 2021-22 season, including a Southern Scuffle title and Big 12 runner-up finish, earning automatic qualification to the NCAA Championships, where he was the No. 6 overall seed.

Daniel Bishop

Daniel Bishop, Augustana University
Bishop, currently pursuing his master’s in sports administration and leadership, completed his undergraduate degree in psychology with a GPA of 3.94. The Sioux City, Iowa, native saved his best year on the mat for last, breaking Augustana’s career record for tech falls with his 23rd tech fall coming against MSU Moorhead. He also earned NSCA All-America honors and NWCA Scholar All-America honors. Bishop went 19-8 this season while also named the NSIC Elite 18 award winner.

Kyle Rathman

Kyle Rathman, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Rathman, a senior who has a 3.49 GPA and is majoring in marketing, is a three-time All-American who finished his career with a 76-24 record. The Apple Valley, Minn., native was a three-time NCAA qualifier over the course of his four years with the Mavericks. He placed seventh at NCAA Division II national championship tournament after claiming NCAA Division II Region V individual title as a junior in 2020-21. Went 6-0 in dual action. He went 16-4 as a junior and earned a second consecutive trip to the NCAA Division II national championship tournament after finishing second at NCAA Division II Super Region 5 tournament. He placed seventh at the NCAA DII Wrestling Championships in earning All-American honors as a sophomore in 2018-19 when he posted 19-5 mark over the course of the season.

Trevor Turriff Minnesota State
Trevor Turriff

Trevor Turriff, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Turriff, who sports a 3.79 GPA and is completing a master’s degree in business administration, The De Pere, Wis., native captured a 2022 NCAA Division II national championship at 174 lbs and also finished second at the 2021 national championship tournament. A two-time All-American, Turriff finished his senior season with a 21-3 record and was the 2022 NCAA Super Region V Tournament champion. Named the 2022 NSIC Outstanding Senior Wrestler of the Year, Turriff was a three-time NWCA Scholar All-American. A three-time NCAA national championship tournament qualifier, Turriff finished his college career with a 63-17 record.

Garrett Vos
Garrett Vos

Garrett Vos, St. Cloud State University
Vos earned All-District honors for the second straight season, as he maintained a 3.66 GPA as a Criminal Justice major. In 2021-22, Vos became the 11th Husky in program history to earn four All-America honors, as he finished as the nation’s runner-up at 133 pounds, the second consecutive season he’s finished second at the NCAA Wrestling Championships. The Bonifacius, Minn., native earned First Team All-NSIC honors, and was named NSIC Winter All-Academic list and an NWCA Scholar All-American.

Tyler Shilson

Tyler Shilson, Augsburg University
A finance major with a 4.00 GPA, Shilson earned his second career All-American honor in men’s wrestling, finishing third at 157 pounds at the NCAA Division III National Championships in March and third at the NCAA Division III Upper Midwest Regional. Competing in his second season as an Auggie, Shilson finished 33-4 on the year with four pins, 17 technical falls and six major decisions. This season, he finished second among all NCAA Division III men’s wrestlers in technical falls against Division III opponents, with 16 in 74:01. He opened his national tournament run with two third-period technical falls, and after a loss in the semifinals, rallied back with two wins to claim third place at 157 pounds.

Last year, Shilson finished third at 157 pounds at the National Wrestling Coaches Association Division III National Championships, finishing 10-1 with two pins and six technical falls. A competitor at Division I Wisconsin (2017-18) and Chattanooga (2019-20) before transferring to Augsburg, Shilson is now 43-5 in his Augsburg career with six pins, 23 technical falls and six major decisions, and is 71-29 in his collegiate career with 11 pins, 31 technical falls and 12 major decisions. He earned NWCA Division III Scholar All-America honors this season.