Seven Gophers Punch Tickets to Semifinals in Day One of Southern Scuffle

CHATTANOOGA – The No. 8 University of Minnesota wrestling program wrapped up an impressive day one of the 2023 Southern Scuffle presented by Compound Sportswear on Saturday evening, as the Maroon & Gold closed out the day in third place as a team with 70.5 points.

The Gophers will head into day two of the Southern Scuffle with seven semi-finalists tomorrow morning, which is the most among all attending teams. The “U” will have a total of 13 wrestlers still alive for tomorrow’s competition.

Aaron Nagao was the first Gopher to punch his ticket to the semifinals after going 2-0 on the day, defeating Gardner-Webb’s Todd Carter in his first bout before knocking off ranked foe Connor Brown by 6-3 decision in the quarterfinals.

At 141 pounds, Jake Bergeland capped off his 3-0 day by avenging one of his previous losses in the quarterfinal round, defeating Oklahoma State’s Carter Young by a score of 2-0. Prior to that, Bergeland earned a decision over Gavin Drexler (North Dakota State) and a technical fall against Dylan Chappell (Bucknell).

The Gophers had two wrestlers punch their ticket to the semifinals at 165 pounds, as both Cael Carlson and Andrew Sparks both defeated ranked opponents in the Saturday night session to stay alive. Carlson knocked off Oklahoma State’s Wyatt Sheets by a score of 9-4, while Sparks earned the match-clinching takedown in the final fifteen seconds to earn the decision win over William Formato (Appalachian State).

174 pounds also saw a pair of Gophers earn semifinal bids, with Bailee O’Reilly and Jared Krattiger set to represent the Maroon & Gold tomorrow. Krattiger earned a 3-2 upset win over Tyler Eischens (Stanford) in his quarterfinal bout, while Bailee O’Reilly knocked off Little Rock’s Tristan Wills by a 3-1 decision. The pair each went 3-0 today, respectively.

Minnesota’s final semifinalist came at heavyweight, as Garrett Joles defeated North Dakota State’s Juan Mora for the second time this season to stay in the title hunt heading into day two. Joles also earned an opening-round decision over Appalachian State’s Jacob Sartorio and pinned Seamus O’Malley (Stanford) to round out a 3-0 day.

The Gophers also saw Troy Spratley and Michial Foy compete in the quarterfinal round, but both fell to ranked opponents to drop to the backside. Jake Gliva, Blaine Brenner, Marcos Polanco, and Gabe Nagel round out the group of wrestlers still alive in the consolations heading into tomorrow’s action.

Brackets/Results on

The Southern Scuffle resumes tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. CST, with the semifinal round beginning at 1:00 p.m. CST. The tournament is scheduled to conclude with the Finals session at 6:00 p.m. CST, with all live coverage of the event being held on FloWrestling.

Minnesota Day One Results:

125 Troy Spratley (Minnesota) DEC Kooper Loehr (Purdue), 2-1
125 Troy Spratley (Minnesota) DEC Braxton Brown (Maryland), 5-1
125 Noah Surtin (Missouri) F Troy Spratley (Minnesota), 0:51

133 Jake Gliva (Minnesota) DEC Jace Koelzer (N. Colorado), 2-0
133 Sean Carter (Appalachian State) DEC Jake Gliva (Minnesota), 3-2
133 Aaron Nagao (Minnesota) DEC Todd Carter (Gardner Webb), 9-3
133 Jake Gliva (Minnesota) MD Jayden Carson (Little Rock), 10-2
133 Aaron Nagao (Minnesota) DEC Connor Brown (Missouri), 6-3
133 Jake Gliva (Minnesota) DEC Jackson Disario (Stanford), 7-5

141 Vance Vombaur (Minnesota) DEC Issac Byers (Appalachian State), 6-3
141 Jake Bergeland (Minnesota) DEC Gavin Drexler (ND State), 4-2
141 Vance Vombaur (Minnesota) DEC Kyren Butler (Virginia), 6-2
141 Dylan Droegemueller (ND State) DEC Vance Vombaur (Minnesota), 4-3
141 Jake Bergeland (Minnesota) TF Dylan Chappell (Bucknell), 16-1 6:04
141 Vance Vombaur (Minnesota) DEC Teague Travis (Oklahoma State), 5-1
141 Jake Bergeland (Minnesota) DEC Carter Young (Oklahoma State), 2-0
141 Justin Hoyle (Hofstra) DEF Vance Vombaur (Minnesota), 4-2 5:14

149 Theo Cha (Minnesota) DEC Matthew Williams (Chattanooga), 5-3 SV
149 Noah Castillo (Chattanooga) DEC Blaine Brenner (Minnesota), 8-3
149 Drew Roberts (Minnesota) DEC Kolby Depron (Bucknell), 7-5
149 Benji Alanis (N. Colorado) DEC Marcos Polanco (Minnesota), 3-1 SV
149 Marcos Polanco (Minnesota) F Kevin Schork (Maryland), 2:38
149 Michael Gioffre (Virginia) DEC Theo Cha (Minnesota), 8-3
149 Kellyn March (ND State) M FOR Drew Roberts (Minnesota)
149 Marcos Polanco (Minnesota) DEC Chase Tebbets (Little Rock), 4-2 SV
149 Blaine Brenner (Minnesota) DEC Joey Bianchi (Little Rock), 5-4
149 Marcos Polanco (Minnesota) DEC Josh Brown (CSU-Bakersfield), 4-2
149 Theo Cha (Minnesota) MD Kolby Depron (Bucknell), 14-3
149 Blaine Brenner (Minnesota) DEC Cutter Sheets (Oklahoma State), 7-3
149 Jaden Abas (Stanford) M FOR Drew Roberts (Minnesota)
149 Marcos Polanco (Minnesota) DEC Grant Lundy (Chattanooga), 9-5
149 Ethen Miller (Maryland) MD Theo Cha (Minnesota), 10-2
149 Blaine Brenner (Minnesota) F Gabe Schumm (ND State), 5:45

157 Tim Stapleton (Minnesota) F Austin Keal (Little Rock), 7:17
157 Daniel Manibog (Oklahoma State) F Tim Stapleton (Minnesota), 0:48
157 Jared Franek (ND State) MD Sebas Swiggum (Minnesota), 13-0
157 Sebas Swiggum (Minnesota) TF Brendon Abdon (Little Rock), 20-4 7:00
157 Tim Stapleton (Minnesota) M FOR Jake Silverstein (Rider)
157 Cody Bond (Appalachian State) MD Sebas Swiggum (Minnesota), 18-6
157 Lincoln Heck (Chattanooga) DEC Tim Stapleton (Minnesota), 6-4

165 Cael Carlson (Minnesota) DEC Chase Barlow (Bucknell), 8-1
165 Andrew Sparks (Minnesota) MD Matt Rogers (Hofstra), 13-2
165 Cael Carlson (Minnesota) F Baylor Fernandes (N. Colorado), 6:05
165 Andrew Sparks (Minnesota) DEC Carter Schmidt (Iowa State), 4-0
165 Cael Carlson (Minnesota) DEC Wyatt Sheets (Oklahoma State), 9-4
165 Andrew Sparks (Minnesota) DEC Will Formato (Appalachian State), 3-1

174 Jared Krattiger (Minnesota) DEC Jordan Florence (Virginia Tech), 5-1
174 Bailee O’Reilly (Minnesota) DEC Manny Rojas (Iowa State), 11-6
174 Jared Krattiger (Minnesota) DEC Julien Broderson (Iowa State), 7-2
174 Bailee O’Reilly (Minnesota) MD Sam Barnes (Bucknell), 14-3
174 Jared Krattiger (Minnesota) DEC Tyler Eischens (Stanford), 3-2
174 Bailee O’Reilly (Minnesota) DEC Triston Wills (Little Rock), 3-2

184 Travis Wittlake (Oklahoma State) DEC Sam Skillings (Minnesota), 5-3
184 Sam Skillings (Minnesota) F Chopper Mordecai (Appalachian State), 2:38
184 Krystian Kinsey (Virginia) DEC Sam Skillings (Minnesota), 10-8

197 Michial Foy (Minnesota) DEC Nolan Springer (Bucknell), 9-5
197 Lou Deprez (Binghamton) F Gabe Nagel (Minnesota), 1:18
197 Michial Foy (Minnesota) DEC Jake Boyd (Chattanooga), 1-0
197 Gabe Nagel (Minnesota) F Vincent Baker (Duke), 1:06
197 Owen Pentz (ND State) DEC Michial Foy (Minnesota), 5-3 SV
197 Gabe Nagel (Minnesota) DEC Xavier Vasquez (N. Colorado), 6-1

285 Garrett Joles (Minnesota) DEC Jacob Sartorio (Appalachian State), 6-3
285 Garrett Joles (Minnesota) F Seamus O’malley (Stanford), 1:43
285 Garrett Joles (Minnesota) DEC Juan Mora (ND State), 5-4

Check out Gopher Wrestling at and on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Buy Gopher Tickets

View More College News