Big 12 Championship Seeds Announced

IRVING, Texas – The Conference announced on Monday the pre-seeds for the 2023 Big 12 Wrestling Championship, which is set to take place March 4-5 at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Missouri led the Big 12 in selections and top seeds as its entire lineup received selections, highlighted by No. 1-seeded Brock Mauller (149 pounds) and Peyton Mocco (174). Oklahoma State and West Virginia each had nine seeds, while South Dakota State followed with eight.

West Virginia’s Killian Cardinale (125), Northern Iowa’s Parker Keckeisen (184), and Air Force’s Wyatt Hendrickson (Heavyweight) all earned top seeds in their weight classes for the second year in a row, while Oklahoma State’s Daton Fix secured his third straight top seed at 133 pounds. Iowa State’s David Carr locked in his third consecutive top seed as well, but this year at 165 pounds, after the last two years were at 157 pounds. Northern Colorado’s Andrew Alirez (141), North Dakota State’s Jared Franek (157), and South Dakota State’s Tanner Sloan (197) rounded out the No. 1 selections.

Tickets to the Big 12 Wrestling Championship can be purchased at TicketMaster.

This is the eighth neutral-site conference championship for the sport and the seventh in Tulsa. Missouri took home the Big 12 title last year in its first season as an affiliate member, with 131.5 points.

Big 12 Now on ESPN+ will broadcast the first three sessions of the event, while the championship round will air on ESPNU at 8 p.m. CT Sunday.

125 Pounds – 6 NCAA Championship Automatic Qualification spots (AQs)
1) Killian Cardinale, West Virginia
2) Jore Volk, Wyoming
3) Noah Surtin, Missouri
4) Stevo Poulin, Northern Colorado
5) Kase Mauger, Utah Valley
6) Tanner Jordan, South Dakota State
7) Joey Prata, Oklahoma
8) Elijah Griffin, California Baptist
Kyle Gollhofer, Northern Iowa
Tucker Owens, Air Force
Reece Witcraft, Oklahoma State
Corey Cabanban, Iowa State
Carlos Negrate, North Dakota State

133 Pounds – 5 AQs
1) Daton Fix, Oklahoma State
2) Kyle Biscoglia, Northern Iowa
3) Zach Redding, Iowa State
4) Cody Phippen, Air Force
5) Connor Brown, Missouri
6) Hunter Leake, California Baptist
7) Mcgwire Midkiff, North Dakota State
8) Jace Koelzer, Northern Colorado
Wyatt Henson, Oklahoma
Derrick Cardinal, South Dakota State
Kobe Nelms, Utah Valley
Davin Rhoads, West Virginia
Garrett Ricks, Wyoming

141 Pounds – 7 AQs
1) Andrew Alirez, Northern Colorado
2) Mosha Schwartz, Oklahoma
3) Cael Happel, Northern Iowa
4) Carter Young, Oklahoma State
5) Clay Carlson, South Dakota State
6) Allan Hart, Missouri
7) Dylan Droegemueller, North Dakota State
8) Jordan Titus, West Virginia
Job Greenwood, Wyoming
Ty Smith, Utah Valley
Casey Swiderski, Iowa State
Garrett Kuchan, Air Force
Christian Nunez, California Baptist

149 Pounds – 7 AQs
1) Brock Mauller, Missouri
2) Colin Realbuto, Northern Iowa
3) Paniro Johnson, Iowa State
4) Kellyn March, North Dakota State
5) Victor Voinovich, Oklahoma State
6) Mitch Moore, Oklahoma
7) Chris Sandoval, Northern Colorado
8) Sam Hillegas, West Virginia
Dylan Martinez, Air Force
Alek Martin, South Dakota State
Isaiah Delgado, Utah Valley
Chaz Hallmark, California Baptist
Chase Zollmann, Wyoming

157 Pounds – 7 AQs
1) Jared Franek, North Dakota State
2) Kaden Gfeller, Oklahoma State
3) Jarrett Jacques, Missouri
4) Cael Swensen, South Dakota State
5) Derek Holschlag, Northern Iowa
6) Jacob Wright, Wyoming
7) Jason Kraisser, Iowa State
8) Alex Hornfeck, West Virginia
Vinny Zerban, Northern Colorado
Jared Hill, Oklahoma
Jack Ganos, Air Force
Tyson Humpherys, Utah Valley
Nolan Miller-Johnston, California Baptist

165 Pounds – 8 AQs
1) David Carr, Iowa State
2) Keegan O’Toole, Missouri
3) Michael Caliendo, North Dakota State
4) Peyton Hall, West Virginia
5) Gerrit Nijenhuis, Oklahoma
6) Wyatt Sheets, Oklahoma State
7) Tanner Cook, South Dakota State
8) Baylor Fernandes, Northern Colorado
Austin Yant, Northern Iowa
Cole Moody, Wyoming
Frank Almaguer, California Baptist
Cameron Haddock, Utah Valley
Seamus Casey, Air Force

174 Pounds – 6 AQs
1) Peyton Mocco, Missouri
2) Dustin Plott, Oklahoma State
3) Sam Wolf, Air Force
4) Demetrius Romero, Utah Valley
5) Tate Picklo, Oklahoma
6) Cade Devos South Dakota State,
7) Lance Runyon, Northern Iowa
8) Scott Joll, West Virginia
Gaven Sax, North Dakota State
Andrew Berreyesa, Northern Colorado
Julien Broderson, Iowa State
Hayden Hastings, Wyoming
Louis Rojas, California Baptist

184 Pounds – 4 AQs
1) Parker Keckeisen, Northern Iowa
2) Marcus Coleman, Iowa State
3) Travis Wittlake, Oklahoma State
4) Colton Hawks, Missouri
5) Dj Parker, North Dakota State
6) Keegan Moore, Oklahoma
7) Cade King, South Dakota State
8) Anthony Carman, West Virginia
Noah Blake, Air Force
Peter Acciardi, California Baptist
Quayin Short, Wyoming
Mahonri Rushton, Utah Valley
Branson Britten, Northern Colorado

197 Pounds – 6 AQs
1) Tanner Sloan, South Dakota State
2) Rocky Elam, Missouri
3) Yonger Bastida, Iowa State
4) Luke Surber, Oklahoma State
5) Owen Pentz, North Dakota State
6) Evan Bockman, Utah Valley
7) Calvin Sund, Air Force
8) Austin Cooley, West Virginia
Noah Glaser, Northern Iowa
Xavier Vasquez, Northern Colorado
Caden Gerlach, California Baptist
Carson Berryhill, Oklahoma
Tyce Raddon, Wyoming

285 Pounds – 8 AQs
1) Wyatt Hendrickson, Air Force
2) Sam Schuyler, Iowa State
3) Zach Elam, Missouri
4) A.J. Nevills, South Dakota State
5) Michael Wolfgram, West Virginia
6) Josh Heindselman, Oklahoma
7) Tyrell Gordon, Northern Iowa
8) Konner Doucet, Oklahoma State
Chase Trussell, Utah Valley
Juan Mora, North Dakota State
Xavier Doolin, Northern Colorado
Chris Island, California Baptist
Terren Swartz, Wyoming

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?