League-leading six Huskies wrestlers earn All-NSIC honors

157-pounder Nick Novak and 197-pounder Dominic Murphy earn First Team accolades

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – No. 3 St. Cloud State Wrestling saw a league-best six student-athletes named All-NSIC on Wednesday as the conference office announced their All-Conference teams. 157-pounder Nick Novak and 197-pounder Dominic Murphy earned First Team honors, while Paxton Creese (125), Sam Spencer (133), Joey Bianchini (149) and Abner Romero (174) were named to the Second Team.

Nick Novak has gone 19-0 this season with a 10-0 record in duals. Moving up to 157 in December after an injury, Novak has scored seven major decisions, one tech fall and two pins while going 3-0 against ranked opponents.

Dominic Murphy owns a 22-3 record with a 12-2 mark in duals this season as the Huskies’ 197-pounder. Murphy owns four ranked wins and has recorded three major decisions, two tech falls and four pins while going undefeated in NSIC action.

174-pounder Abner Romero is 13-0 in his final collegiate campaign, going 10-0 in duals with three major decisions, three techs and a fall. Romero is 2-0 with two decisions against First Team All-NSIC pick Max Bruss this season and has been the unanimous No. 1 wrestler at 174 throughout the entire year. The redshirt senior has earned his third career All-Conference honor.

Paxton Creese is 16-2 with an 8-1 dual record in 2022-23, owning a pair of ranked wins. The 125-pounder has four major decisions, two technical falls and three pins to his name this season. Creese is now a two-time All-NSIC selection after earning First Team honors last year.

133-pounder Sam Spencer is 14-5 with a 6-1 dual mark in his first season as a starter. The redshirt sophomore has recorded three major decisions, one tech fall and a pin.

Joey Bianchini rounds out the Huskies’ selections after going 12-1 with a 12-1 mark in duals this season, recording two ranked wins at 149. The redshirt senior is now a four-time All-NSIC honoree and has three major decisions and a tech fall to his credit this year.

The Huskies are looking ahead to the NCAA Super Region V Tournament held this Saturday, February 25 at Wachs Arena in Aberdeen, South Dakota.

First Team All-Conference
Shane Corrigan125Fr.ParksideDePere, Wis.
Reece Barnhardt133So.UMaryBismarck, N.D.
Cayden Henschel141So.ParksideWest Bend, Wis.
Wyatt Turnquist149R-Jr.NSUWinner S.D.
Nick Novak157R-Jr.SCSUNew Prague, Minn.
Shane Gantz165Sr.ParksideWaukesha, Wis.
Max Bruss174R-Jr.UMaryDe Pere, Wis.
Reece Worachek184So.ParksideLuxemburg, Wis.
Dominic Murphy197R-Jr.SCSUEvergreen Park, Ill.
Zach Ryg285So.UIUPlymouth, Iowa
Second Team All-Conference
Paxton Creese125Jr.SCSUShakopee, Minn.
Sam Spencer133R-So.SCSUHuntley, Ill.
Tate Murty141Jr.UIUFountain City, Wis.
Joey Bianchini149R-Sr.SCSUElk Grove Village, Ill.
Ben Durocher157So.ParksideWrightstown, Wis.
Chase Luensman165Jr.UIUMonticello, Iowa
Abner Romero174R-Sr.SCSUFresno, Calif.
Wyatt Lidberg184R-So.UMaryAlbertville, Minn.
Cole Huss197R-Jr.NSUGretna, Neb.
Luke Tweeton285R-Fr.UMaryDetroit Lakes, Minn.

Information regarding single dual and season tickets can be found at scsutickets.com. For all the latest on St. Cloud State Wrestling, stay tuned to SCSUHuskies.com and follow the team on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

View More College News