11 Bison Wrestlers Earn Academic All-Big 12 Honors

IRVING, Texas – North Dakota State wrestling had 11 Bison named to the 2023 Winter Academic All-Big 12 Team Wednesday, announced the conference office.

The Bison had nine student-athletes named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team, while two more Bison were tabbed with Academic All-Big 12 Second Team honors.

Leading the way for honorees is Jared Franek and Dylan Droegemueller, who become four-time recipients of the honor, as both Bison have been named to the first team all four years.

Riley Habisch, McGwire Midkiff, and Michael Nelson were all named to the first team and all become three-time recipients of first-team honors. Gaven Sax and Ryan Henningson join the list of Bison to receive the award multiple times. Sax has been named to the first team for the second straight year. Henningson was named to the second team last season.

Four Bison become first-time recipients, led by Michael Caliendo and Carlos Negrete Jr., who received first-team honors. Spencer Mooberry and DJ Parker also picked up recognition, being named to the second team.

The 11 honorees for NDSU are tied for the third most in the program’s history.

2023 Academic All-Big 12 First Team
Michael Caliendo – RFr. – Business Administration
Dylan Droegemueller – Sr. – Business Administration
Jared Franek – Sr. – Business Administration
Riley Habisch – Sr. – Construction Engineering
Ryan Henningson – Jr. – Construction Management
McGwire Midkiff – Sr. – Business Administration
Carlos Negrete Jr. – RFr. – Nursing
Michael Nelson – Sr. – Business Administration
Gaven Sax – So. – Sport Management

2023 Academic All-Big 12 Second Team
Spencer Mooberry – RFr. – Business Administration
DJ Parker – So. – Business Administration

Check out Bison Wrestling at gobison.com and on Twitter. Buy Bison Tickets

View More College News