2023 NWCA Division II Scholar All-America Awards

MANHEIM, PA – For the fifth time in six seasons, the Saints of Maryville University sit atop the NWCA Scholar All-America Team listing for NCAA Division II. In addition, 318 individuals from 57 programs were also honored in the annual awards.

The Saints posted a GPA of 3.487 to top the team listing. Wisconsin-Parkside (3.466); Indianapolis (3.386); West Liberty (3.378) and Northern State (3.372) round out the top five teams.

“We are proud of our team for this,” Saints Head Coach Mike Denney said. “The academic standards at Maryville are high and we want to be a positive force in that. Winning this award shows we are contributing to our campus in that way and I am really just so pleased and proud of our guys.”

A total of 318 individuals were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans from 57 institutions. Of those 318, 94 of the 2023 NCAA Division II 180 National Qualifiers were honored, with 54 All-Americans making the list. Seven of this year’s National Champions earned Scholar All-American status: Gavin Quiocho of Glenville State (133); Josiah Rider of Adams State (149); Nick Novak of St. Cloud State (157); Chase Luensman of Upper Iowa (165); Austin Eldredge of Nebraska-Kearney (174); Ty McGeary of West Liberty (184) and Dalton Abney of Central Oklahoma (197). In addition, four more National Finalists were also honored: Jaxson Rohrman of Augustana (125); Christian Small of Lake Erie (141); Logan Hall of Lander (184) and Derek Blubaugh of Indianapolis (197).

Of the 318 honorees, 40 were honored with perfect 4.0 GPAs. There were 16 individuals that earned the Scholar All-American honor for the fourth time, while 10 earned the honor for the fifth time (due to COVID-19): Nick Young (Gannon); Joel Leise (Gannon); Joey Bianchini (St. Cloud State); Cole Laya (West Liberty); Donny Schmit (Upper Iowa); Jordan Baumler (Upper Iowa), Connor Manderfield (Upper Iowa); Taylor Jokerst (Maryville); Joel Cawoski (Seton Hill) and Robert Coyle (Northern State).

West Liberty had 16 individual honorees to lead all institutions. Indianapolis had 15 honorees, with Nebraska-Kearney and Mary both putting 12 on the individual honoree listing.

In order for a student-athlete to be nominated to the Division II Scholar All-American Team, he must have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale, with that benchmark at 3.25 for those who qualified for the 2023 NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships and a 3.0 for those who were All-Americans at the 2023 Nationals. Wrestlers must have competed in four dates of competition.


Rank Institution GPA
1 Maryville University 3.487
2 University of Wisconsin-Parkside 3.466
3 University of Indianapolis 3.386
4 West Liberty University 3.378
5 Northern State University 3.372
6 Lake Erie College 3.312
7 Fort Hays State University 3.307
8 University of Mary 3.285
9 Drury University 3.253
10 Colorado School of Mines 3.251
11 Augustana University 3.235
12 Fairmont State University 3.229
13 Tiffin University 3.211
14 Seton Hill University 3.209
15 Ashland University 3.199
16 American International College 3.192
17 Lincoln Memorial University 3.188
18 Western Colorado University 3.170
19 Southwest Minnesota State University 3.166
20 Gannon University 3.163

2023 NWCA Division II Scholar All-Americans

Augustana University
John Babineau RSo 125 Physics
Hunter Burnett Sr 141 Education
Gavin Gulbranson Fr 174 Business Admin
Edward Hajas So 285 Data Science
Cade Mueller Jr 184 Business Admin
Jaxson Rohman So 125 Nursing
Tyler Wagener Sr 165 Business Admin, MBA

Minnesota State University
Shane Gibson Jr 197 Social Studies Teaching
Nicolas Leo Sr 184 Biology
Kole Marko Fr 165 Finance
Caleb Meunier Fr 149 Construction Management
Isaiah Mlsna So 133 Management

Minnesota State University Moorhead
Jonas Anez Fr 165 Exercise Science
Parker Benz Fr 141 Accounting
Samuel Grove Gr 197 Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Gunnar Mogen So 149 Biology: Health and Medical Sciences

Southwest Minnesota State University
Nye Becker Sr 174 Agribusiness Management
Sean Howk RSo 157 Physical Education
Jace Paplow Sr 184 Agronomy

St. Cloud State University
Wyatt Abele Fr 157 Mechanical Engineering
Joseph Bianchini Sr 149 Real Estate
Augustus Donovan So 149 Finance
Owen Herbst Fr 165 Social Studies Education
Anthony Herrera Sr 165 Criminal Justice
Phillip Kue Jr 141 Health and Physical Education
Cody Minor Jr 157 Exercise Science
Dominic Murphy Jr 197 Mechanical Engineering
Nicholas Novak So 157 Mechanical Engineering
Shaeden Scheidt Jr 184 Mechanical Engineering
Logan Vaughan Fr 165 Criminal Justice