NWCA NCAA DII Rankings – October 30, 2023

Lander Tops Preseason Division II Men’s Coaches Poll

MANHEIM, Pa.- A first-time #1, the Lander Bearcats, will open the 2023-24 season atop the preseason edition of the NWCA Division II Coaches Poll, released Oct. 30 by the Association.

The Bearcats, who finished runner-up at the 2023 NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships, top the poll with 82 total points and a poll-high eight ranked wrestlers. West Liberty sits at #2 in the preseason poll, with 69 points behind five ranked wrestlers. Defending National Champion Central Oklahoma is in the three-spot with 63 points, with St. Cloud State (56 points) in fourth with its six ranked wrestlers and McKendree and Upper Iowa tied for the five-spot with 48 points each.

Six of the preseason top-ranked individuals are returning National Champions from a season ago, highlighted by two-time National Champion Dalton Abney of Central Oklahoma at 197. At 133, Gavin Quiocho of Glenville State is back after his title a season ago, as is Tiffin’s Zack Donathan at 141. Nick Novak of St. Cloud State is back and sits at #1 at 157, Chase Luensman of Upper Iowa tops the ranking at 165 and West Liberty’s Ty McGeary comes back to defend his title at 184. Another of the top-ranked wrestlers, Jaxson Rohman of Augustana, comes sits atop the 125 ranking after finishing as National Runner-up at the weight a season ago.

At 149, Wyatt Tunrquist of Northern State is a first-time #1, finishing third last season. Turnquist was ranked as high as seventh last year. James Penfold of Lake Erie tops the 174 ranking for the first time ever after taking fourth a season ago, while Indianapolis’ Cale Gray is #1 at 285 for the first time in his career after taking fourth last season. Penfold topped out at #4 in the rankings a season ago, while Gray was as high as seventh in the rankings last season.

Two weight classes feature nine returning All-Americans among their ranked wrestlers, with 149 and 165 both having nine guys who have been on the podium. Both 141 and 197 feature eight returning All-Americans, while 133 and 184 have seven returning AAs in their top 12 ranked individuals.

Super Region 5 leads the way with 31 ranked wrestlers and seven teams ranked in the Top 25. Super Region 3 has the most #1s, with four among its 23 ranked wrestlers and five Top 25 teams. The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) leads all conferences with 26 ranked wrestlers and six ranked teams.

The season kicks off officially Wednesday, Nov. 1, with various teams around NCAA DII in action. Sixty-six teams will compete under the NCAA DII banner this season, including four programs taking the mat for the first time in Frostburg State, Grand Valley State, Montevallo, and Sioux Falls. The top three at each weight class from each of the six regions will descend upon Wichita, Kansas, for the 2024 NCAA Division II National Championships March 15-16.

Nwca D2 Teams Oct 30 2023


  1. Jaxson Rohman Augustana
  2. James Joplin Lander
  3. Christian Mejia Mckendree
  4. Shane Corrigan Uw-Parkside
  5. Studd Morris Central Oklahoma
  6. Zach Shupp Newberry
  7. Trevon Gray Pitt-Johnstown
  8. Jose Diaz Gannon
  9. Graham Shore Findlay
  10. Brady Carter East Stroudsburg
  11. Logan Seliga Unc-Pembroke
  12. Manuel Leija Davenport


  1. Gavin Quiocho Glenville State
  2. Quen Campbell Chadron State
  3. Devin Flannery Millersville
  4. Vincent Scollo West Liberty
  5. Reece Barnhardt Mary
  6. Elijah Lusk Lander
  7. Patrick Allis Western Colorado
  8. Tommy Frezza Central Missouri
  9. Caleb Meekins St. Cloud State
  10. Ryan Wehner Lake Erie
  11. Logan Robinson Unc-Pembroke
  12. James Davis Upper Iowa


  1. Zack Donathan Tiffin
  2. John Carayiannis Belmont Abbey
  3. Jake Niffeneger Mercyhurst
  4. Tate Murty Upper Iowa
  5. Dylan Lucas Central Oklahoma
  6. Corey Gamet Lake Erie
  7. Nick James Nebraska-Kearney
  8. Cayden Henschel Uw-Parkside
  9. Hunter Burnett Augustana
  10. Grayston Diblasi Colorado Mines
  11. Ray Rioux Indianapolis
  12. Alyeus Craig St. Cloud State


  1. Wyatt Turnquist Northern State
  2. Jalen Spuhler Uw-Parkside
  3. Jacob Ealy Pitt-Johnstown
  4. Zeth Brower Lander
  5. Christian Small Lake Erie
  6. Devan Moore Newberry
  7. Colby Njos St. Cloud State
  8. Josh Laubach Mckendree
  9. Chris Donathan Grand Valley State
  10. Dallas Wilson Mount Olive
  11. Craig Cook Millersville
  12. John Burger Nebraska-Kearney


  1. Nick Novak St. Cloud State
  2. Gabe Johnson Central Oklahoma
  3. Casey Barnett Tiffin
  4. Jamar Williams West Liberty
  5. Max Kiel Belmont Abbey
  6. Gage Bernall Lander
  7. Devin Bahr Northern State
  8. Eric Faught Upper Iowa
  9. Jack Haskin Lake Erie
  10. Pj Wunderlich Newberry
  11. Ben Durocher Uw-Parkside
  12. Jake Nicolosi Mount Olive


  1. Chase Luensman Upper Iowa
  2. David Hunsberger Lander
  3. Alec Cook West Liberty
  4. Anthony Hererra St. Cloud State
  5. Cory Peterson Mckendree
  6. Dillon Walker Mercyhurst
  7. Trent Mahoney King
  8. John Ridle Central Missouri
  9. Braydon Huber Mary
  10. Aaden Valdez Adams State
  11. Dalton Gimbor Kutztown
  12. Guy Deleonardis Glenville State


  1. James Penfold Lake Erie
  2. Max Bruss Mary
  3. Cole Hernandez Western Colorado
  4. Nate Barrett Ashland
  5. Zeke Waltz Mckendree
  6. Owen Butler Indianapolis
  7. Calan Staub Mount Olive
  8. Cole Casilio Gannon
  9. Jack Mackiernan American International
  10. Trent Munoz Nebraska-Kearney
  11. Connor Twigg Tiffin
  12. Brandon Matthews Lander


  1. Ty Mcgeary West Liberty
  2. Daniel Beemer Ashland
  3. Matt Weinberg Kutztown
  4. Billy Higgins Nebraska-Kearney
  5. Reece Worachek Uw-Parkside
  6. Colter Bye Upper Iowa
  7. Anthony Desvigne Central Oklahoma
  8. Keegan Gehlhausen Chadron State
  9. Cade Mueller Augustana
  10. Anthony Giampietro Millersville
  11. Zebrandon Gant Newberry
  12. Treyton Cacek Northern State


  1. Dalton Abney Central Oklahoma
  2. Derek Blubaugh Indianapolis
  3. Tereus Henry Fort Hays State
  4. Dominic Murphy St. Cloud State
  5. Matt Kaylor Mary
  6. Logan Kvien Mckendree
  7. Cole Huss Northern State
  8. Caden Steffen Southwest Minn. State
  9. Dakoda Rodgers Pitt-Johnstown
  10. Anthony Yacovetti Lander
  11. Jacob Noon Tiffin
  12. Brylan Clouse Lake Erie


  1. Cale Gray Indianapolis
  2. Juan Edmond-Holmes Lander
  3. Jake Swirple Minot State
  4. Francesco Borsellino West Liberty
  5. Mason Watt Chadron State
  6. La’ron Parks Notre Dame
  7. Isaiah Vance Pitt-Johnstown
  8. Luke Tweeton Mary
  9. Devon Rice Newberry
  10. Crew Howard Nebraska-Kearney
  11. Taniela Feliciano-Takaf Simon Fraser
  12. Clay Ours Tiffin

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?