Augsburg dominates in home invitational

MINNEAPOLIS — Winning seven of the 10 individual titles in the Gold division, and having 27 of 34 wrestlers finish in the top six in their weight classes, the Augsburg University men’s wrestling team dominated the day in its own Augsburg Invitational, held on Saturday at Si Melby Hall.

Thirty-four Augsburg wrestlers (28 in Gold division, six in First-Year division) competed in the 11-team meet, finishing with a combined record of 102-42 on the day. Of the 102 wins, 66 were bonus-point triumphs — 25 pins, 22 technical falls and 19 major decisions. Augsburg won seven of the 10 weight-class titles in the Gold division, and two titles in the First-Year division. The Auggies had 21 top-six finishers in the Gold division, and all six First-Year division competitors finished in the top six.

For the second straight tournament, Augsburg 165-pounder Cooper Willis (SO, Kansasville, Wis./Union Grove HS) met Upper Iowa’s Chase Luensman, the defending NCAA Division II national champion and current top-ranked wrestler in his division, in the finals. And for the second straight tournament, Willis came out on top, claiming an 11-1, major decision victory to score the weight-class victory. Willis, ranked No. 4 in the National Wrestling Coaches Association’s Division III preseason national rankings at 165, went 4-0 on Saturday with a technical fall and a pin, in addition to his major decision win in the finals. He is now 8-1 on the year with two pins, two technical falls and a major decision.

Defending NCAA Division III 141-pound national champion Sam Stuhl (SR, Ellsworth, Wis./Ellsworth HS) opened his title defense with a 4-0 effort, with a pin and technical fall, to win his weight class on Saturday. In the finals, he claimed an 8-6 victory over Upper Iowa’s Tate Murty, the No. 4-ranked Division II 141-pounder. Stuhl is now 61-10 in his Augsburg career, and 75-22 in his overall collegiate career.

Seth Goetzinger (JR, Chatfield, Minn./Chatfield HS), ranked No. 6 nationally at 174 pounds, won his weight class with two pins among his four victories. He scored his final three wins over Division II Upper Iowa wrestlers, including two by pin. Goetzinger is now 8-1 on the year with four pins and a technical fall.

Charlie Stuhl (JR, Ellsworth, Wis./Ellsworth HS), the No. 5-ranked 149-pounder nationally, won his weight class with a technical fall, pin and major decision among his four victories, claiming a 5-4 win over teammate Cole Becker (SO, Albertville, Minn./Albertville HS) in the finals. Stuhl is now 8-2 on the year, while Becker is now 6-3. Becker had two major decisions in his 3-1 day.

Kaden Reetz (SR, Madison, Wis./Madison Memorial HS) won the title at 157 pounds, going 5-0. He scored three technical falls to reach the semifinals, where he scored a 12-3 major decision over Luther’s Clayton McDonough, the No. 6-ranked wrestler at 149 pounds. In the finals, Reetz scored an 8-5 win over teammate Blake Jagodzinske (JR, Sherburn, Minn./Martin County West HS), ranked No. 10 nationally at 157. Jagodzinske went 4-1 on the day with two pins and a major decision.

Top-ranked 285-pounder Tyler Kim (SR, Burnsville, Minn./Apple Valley HS) shared the title in his weight class with teammate Jagger Schack (JR, Osseo, Minn./Osseo HS), as each wrestler went 3-0 to reach the finals. Kim scored a pair of first-period pins and a 10-0, major decision over No. 9-ranked Cullen Quick of Luther (Iowa) in the semifinals, improving to 7-0 on the year with three pins and two major decisions.

At 184, top-ranked Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann (SR, Loyal, Wis./Marshfield HS) and Brant Bombard (SO, North Branch, Minn./North Branch HS) shared the title, each going 3-0. Schwanebeck-Ostermann scored a pair of technical falls and a pin on the day, improving to 6-1 on the year. Bombard had a pin on Saturday and improved to 6-3 on the season.

Tyler Raway (SO, Wyoming, Minn./Forest Lake HS) went 2-1 on the day, with a pin and major decision, to finish second at 197 pounds. Wyatt Kaczrowski (JR, Seymour, Wis./Seymour HS) finished second at 133 pounds, going 3-1 with a pin.

Derek Steele (JR, Winthrop, Minn./Sibley East HS) finished third at 125 pounds with a 4-1 day, scoring two pins and a technical fall, to improve to 9-2 on the season. Cade Willis (JR, Kansasville, Wis./Union Grove HS) finished third at 133, going 4-1 with two technical falls, a pin and a major decision. Lucas Jagodzinske (SO, Sherburn, Minn./Martin County West HS) went 4-1 with two pins and a technical fall to place third at 149. Carter Sorenson (JR, Lengby, Minn./Fosston HS) went 4-1 with a major decision and pin to finish third at 174.

Aedon Oberdorfer (SR, St. Paul, Minn./Highland Park HS) finished fourth at 141 pounds, Thomas Oswald (JR, Osceola HS) finished sixth at 133, Lukas Paulson (JR, Becker, Minn./Becker HS) finished sixth at 157, and Robert Ceese (SO, Amery, Wis./Amery HS) finished sixth at 285. Karson Casper (SO, Coleman, Wis./Coleman HS) placed eighth at 157.

In the First-Year division, all six Auggies earned places, with Chance Suddeth (FY, Stoughton, Wis./Stoughton HS) winning the 133-pound title with a 10-6 win over Ian Radintz (FY, Glenwood City, Wis./Glenwood City HS) in the finals. Karsen Otis (FY, Combined Locks, Wis./Kimberly HS) won the title at 157 with a 4-2 win over teammate Nick Alexander (FY, Kaukauna, Wis./Wrightstown HS) in the finals, with Ethan Ballweber (FY, Princeton, Minn./Princeton HS) finishing fourth. Austin Laudenbach (FY, Lakeville, Minn./Lakeville HS) finished fourth at 125.

Augsburg University Invitational Results

Augsburg travels to face Wisconsin-Eau Claire in a dual meet on Tuesday (11/21) at 4 p.m. in Eau Claire, Wis.


  • Gold 125: Derek Steele 4-1, 3rd place; Keno Vanier 2-2.
  • First-Year 125: Austin Laudenbach 3-2, 4th place.
  • Gold 133: Wyatt Kaczrowski 3-1, 2nd place; Cade Willis 4-1, 3rd place.
  • First-Year 133: Chase Suddeth 3-0, 1st place; Ian Radintz 2-1, 2nd place.
  • Gold 141: Sam Stuhl 4-0, 1st place; Aedon Oberdorfer 3-2, 4th place.
  • Gold 149: Charlie Stuhl 4-0, 1st place; Cole Becker 3-1, 2nd place; Lucas Jagodzinske 4-1, 3rd place; Austin Gabbert 1-2.
  • Gold 157: Kaden Reetz 5-0, 1st place; Blake Jagodzinske 4-1, 2nd place; Lukas Paulson 3-2, 6th place; Karson Casper 2-2, 8th place.
  • First-Year 157: Karsen Otis 4-0, 1st place; Nick Alexander 3-1, 2nd place; Ethan Ballweber 3-2, 4th place.
  • Gold 165: Cooper Willis 4-0, 1st place; Bowen Rothbauer 2-2.
  • Gold 174: Seth Goetzinger 4-0, 1st place; Carter Sorenson 4-1, 3rd place; Max Sokolski 1-2; Moses Madimba 0-2.
  • Gold 184: Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann 3-0, co-1st place; Brant Bombard 3-0, co-1st place.
  • Gold 197: Tyler Raway 2-1, 2nd place.
  • Gold 285: Tyler Kim 3-0, co-1st place; Jagger Schack 3-0, co-1st place; Robert Beese 3-3, 6th place; Hunter Gorecki 1-2.

Check out Auggies Wrestling at and on Facebook and X (Twitter).

View More College News