Matches Set for 2023 Black & Red Classic

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – No. 4 St. Cloud State Wrestling has set their lineups for tonight’s annual Black & Red Classic held at Halenbeck Hall. The traditional matchup between Team Black and Team Red is scheduled for a 7:00 p.m. CT, beginning at 125 and closing with two exhibition matches at 174 and 149.

Team Black will feature Conor Knopick at 125, No. 9 Caleb Meekins at 133, No. 12 Alyeus Craig at 141, Nolan Throne at 149 and No. 1 Nick Novak at 157. Ethan Hendrickson will wrestle for team black at 165, followed by Logan Vaughan at 174 and Tyson Meyer at 184. Rounding out the lineup for the black team will be Brendan Lockart at 197 and Dylan Bravo-Packer at heavyweight.

Team Red opens with Dominic Ducato at 125, Sam Spencer at 133 and Phillip Kue at 141. Next up is Luke Studer at 149, Blake Legred at 157, No. 4 Anthony Herrera at 165 and Bryce Dagel at 174. Closing the ticket for team red will be Bryce FitzPatrick at 184, No. 4 Dominic Murphy at 197 and Elijah Novak at heavyweight.

Thursday’s Black & Red will also feature two exhibition matches at 174 and 149, with Cole Glazier and Mac Copeland wrestling at 174 and Aoci Bernard and Colton Bornholdt squaring off at 149.

A pair of Huskies alumni will serve as honorary coaches for the two teams, as Larry Bomstad (’18) leads Team Black, while and Joey Bianchini (’23) leads Team Red. Bomstad was a team captain and three-time All-American for the Huskies and helped SCSU capture three NCAA National Championships in 2015, 2016 and 2018. Bianchini was a team captain and three-time All-American for the Huskies, and helped SCSU win national titles in 2019 and 2021.

Thursday will serve as Parent’s Night at Halenbeck Hall, as the parents of St. Cloud State wrestlers are invited to a post-match social held in Torrey Commons. Additionally, the first 100 fans to the event will receive a free schedule poster.

2023 Black & Red Classic Matchups (Team Black listed first, Team Red listed second)
125 – Conor Knopick vs. Dominic Ducato
133 – No. 9 Caleb Meekins vs. Sam Spencer
141 – No. 12 Alyeus Craig vs. Phillip Kue
149 – Nolan Throne vs. Luke Studer
157 – No. 1 Nick Novak vs. Blake Legred
165 – Ethan Hendrickson vs. No. 4 Anthony Herrera
174 – Logan Vaughan vs. Bryce Dagel
184 – Tyson Meyer vs. Bryce FitzPatrick
197 – Brendan Lockart vs. No. 4 Dominic Murphy
HWT – Dylan Bravo-Packer vs. Elijah Novak
Exh. 174 – Cole Glazier vs. Mac Copeland
Exh. 149 – Aoci Bernard vs. Colton Bornholdt

Information regarding single dual and season tickets can be found at For all the latest on St. Cloud State Wrestling, stay tuned to and follow the team on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?