2024 MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team Named

By Joe Puncochar, MWCA Individual All-State Academic Chairman

Updated on February 28, 2024

In 2024, the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches’ Association has found 31 outstanding student-athletes to recognize as the 2024 MWCA All-State Academic Individual Wrestling Team. They not only set out to be determined wrestlers but also have accomplished much in the classroom. Being recognized as Academic All-State by the MWCA is not an easy task. The MWCA only takes the top student-athletes at each weight class to be recognized for this honor. With over 130 nominees and only 31 who were chosen to receive the award, it’s quite the feat to be recognized!

This year’s team had four students who boast a perfect 4.0 unweighted cumulative GPA! Beau Hudoba of Ogilvie, David Revering of Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie, Zak McPhee of Proctor/Hermantown, and Will Sather of Eden Prairie. Each of these wrestlers has previously competed in the state tournament and has had a long track record of success. Joining them as repeat honorees are Jed Wester of STMA, Devin Carter of TMB/WWG, Nolan Ambrose of Jackson County Central, and Jack Nelson of Mound-Westonka. It is quite the feat to earn one All-State Academic honor, let alone two!

This year’s roster includes 23 seniors and eight juniors. Class AA leads the way with fourteen students on the team, followed by Class A with nine and Class AAA with eight. This group of wrestlers is not only talented in the classroom but also on the mat. They have totaled fifteen state championships led by three-time champions Nolan Amrose and Jack Nelson. Other state champions include Griffen Lundeen of Thief River Falls, Landon Robideau and Jed Wester of STMA, Zach Remer of Mille Lacs, Devin Carter, Maximus Hansen of Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa, Cole Han-Lindemyer of Farmington, Kailan Schott of Chatfield and Will Sather. Many of these wrestlers boast GPAs of 3.6 or higher, including 26 of 31 honorees. We had an astounding 16 student-athletes with over a 3.90 GPA. These stellar individuals should be proud of their accomplishments.

This year’s team has combined to win over 5100 matches in their careers! They represent 27 different schools across the state. STMA, Simley, Mound-Westonka, and Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa each had two students selected. Many of them serve as captains on their team modeling leadership in the classroom and on the mat! The example they set for their teammates is nothing short of amazing!

Each year, we get a number of phenomenal nominations. Sometimes, it comes down to just a few points separating those who receive the award and those who don’t. The state’s coaches are dedicated to shining the spotlight on their students who excel on the mat and in the classroom. Thank you to the coaches who took the time to nominate their deserving team members. Congratulations to all our juniors and seniors for getting it done in the classroom and on the mat!

The members of this team are selected by using the following criteria:

  • Cumulative GPA – example: 3.95 x 2 = 790 points
  • Overall matches wrestled – wins and losses – 1 point per match
  • Winning percentage – 77% = 77 points
  • State Tournament Participation – 25 points per year
  • State Tournament Placement – 1st (50 points), 2nd (40), 3rd (35), 4th (25), 5th (20) and 6th (10)

The 30 honorees will be recognized and awarded plaques by the MWCA during the state tournament at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Feb 29 – March 2, 2024.

2024 Academic Individual All-State Team

Dylan St. Germain11Eagan
Kyle Stangl11Pierz
Austin Grzywinski12Simley
Beau Hudoba12Ogilvie
Zach Remer11Mille Lacs Raiders
Gabriel Michels12Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted
Cyler Ruhoff12Foley
Devin Carter12Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/WWG
Cole Munsterteiger11Mound Westonka
Isaiah Nelson11New London-Spicer
Calvin Singewald12Cannon Falls
Ryan Jensen12Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
Conlan Carlson11Willmar
Nolan Ambrose12Jackson County Central
Jack Nelson12Mound Westonka
Landon Robideau11St. Michael-Albertville
Cash Raymond12Simley
Owen Denstad12Caledonia
Griffin Lundeen12Thief River Falls
David Revering12Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie
Jevon Williams12Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City
Jed Wester12St. Michael-Albertville
Maximus Hanson12Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
Cael Olson12Delano
Cole Han-Lindemyer12Farmington
Kailan Schott12Chatfield
Zak McPhee12Proctor/Hermantown
Cy Kruse12Totino-Grace
Joey Muhlstein11Mounds View
Brody Perry12Edina
Will Sather12Eden Prairie

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?