Four Johnnies Place at UW-Eau Claire’s Open

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. – Four Saint John’s wrestlers finished in the top eight at Wisconsin-Eau Claire’s Don Parker Open on Saturday, Feb. 3.

Only 24 of SJU’s 46 countable matches were against NCAA Division III competition.

Freshman Connor Krueger (Superior, Wis.) led the Johnnies with a seventh-place finish at 141 pounds. He started his day with a pair of decisions, 6-0 and 7-1, before he fell to Division I South Dakota State’s Avery Allen via major decision in the quarterfinal. Krueger suffered his second loss of the day by a decision but bounced back with a 24-9 technical fall in the seventh-place bout. He is now 19-8 on the season.

Sophomore Zachariah Hunter (Stillwater, Minn./Stillwater Area), like Krueger, started the tournament with a pair of wins – a pin and technical fall – at 197 pounds but suffered three-straight defeats to non-NCAA Division III wrestlers (one Division I and two Division II) to place eighth. He is now 13-5 on the mat this season.

Two other Johnnies – senior Ben Gilbertson (Sauk Rapids, Minn./Sauk Rapids-Rice) and sophomore Andy Johnson (St. Cloud, Minn./Tech) – wrestled a handful of matches before leaving the tournament and placing eighth. Gilbertson won his first two matches via decision but dropped a 5-2 decision in the quarterfinal before leaving the tourney at 184 pounds. Johnson, meanwhile, went 1-1 at 174 pounds.

Freshman Cody Kwak (Ridgeland, Wis./Menomonie) won the Consolation B title at heavyweight with a 2-1 record, all by fall, and is now 17-9 on the year.

Junior D.J. Myles (Dayton, Minn./Champlin Park) went 3-2 at 197 pounds and finished as the Consolation A runner-up, while freshman Aidan Wayne (Maple Grove, Minn./Osseo) posted a 2-2 mark to end as the Consolation B runner-up at the same weight.

Don Parker Blugold Open Results

The Johnnies host Ridgewater for Senior Night and the home finale at 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 9, in Sexton Arena.

-Erick Solano (0-2)

-Connor Krueger (Seventh, 3-2)

-Kris Castro (0-2)

-Logan Thorsten (1-2)

-Owen Herbst (1-1)
-Andy Johnson (Eighth, 1-1)
-Noah Whitfield-Lopez (0-2)

-Ben Gilbertson (Eighth, 2-1)
-Cage Linton (0-2)

-Zachariah Hunter (Eighth, 2-3)
-Eric Jurek (1-2)
-D.J. Myles (3-2)
-Aidan Wayne (2-2)

-Thomas Allen (0-2)
-Cody Kwak (Consolation, 2-1)

Check out Johnnies Wrestling at and on X (Twitter).

View More College News