Augsburg wins 15th NCAA D-III national championship

LA CROSSE, Wis. — With two individuals winning national titles and six earning All-American honors, the Augsburg University men’s wrestling team claimed its record-tying 15th NCAA Division III national title and second in a row at the national tournament at the La Crosse Center on Saturday.

Augsburg won the national title with 95.0 points, bettering second-place Wartburg (Iowa) with 87.5 points and third-place Wisconsin-La Crosse with 82.5 points. The lead shifted back and forth between the three schools throughout Saturday, with the Auggies clinching the crown after the first of their two individual titles in the evening session.

With its 15th national title, Augsburg has now tied Wartburg for the most NCAA Division III men’s wrestling team titles in tournament history. It’s the first time Augsburg has claimed back-to-back national titles since the 2000-02 championships and 1997 and 1998 championships.


  1. Augsburg (Minn.) 95.0
  2. Wartburg (Iowa) 87.5
  3. Wisconsin-La Crosse 82.5
  4. Johnson & Wales (R.I.) 76.0
  5. Wisconsin-Eau Claire 69.0
  6. Baldwin-Wallace (Ohio) 61.5
  7. U.S. Coast Guard Academy (Conn.) 52.5
  8. North Central (Ill.) 42.5
  9. The College of New Jersey 37.0
  10. Loras (Iowa) 34.0.

Top-seeded 184-pounder Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann (SR, Loyal, Wis./Marshfield HS) claimed his first national title in dramatic fashion with his third technical fall win of the tournament, a 19-2, 6:36 triumph over Ryan DeVivo of Johnson & Wales (R.I.). He used two takedowns to take a 6-1 lead after one period, then scored four more takedowns in the final two periods to end the match early and earn the national title, claiming his third career win over DeVivo and second this season.

He scored two technical falls on Friday, then earned his national title shot with a 9-0, major-decision win over Sampson Wilkins of Castelton (Vt.) in Saturday’s semifinals, claiming two takedowns and 1:53 of riding time.

Schwanebeck-Ostermann finished the season on a 30-match winning streak, finishing 33-1 with eight pins, 14 technical falls and eight major decisions. He finished his career at 115-29, with 28 pins, 21 technical falls and 25 major decisions. He is now a four-time All-American for the Auggies, finishing fourth at 184 pounds last year, sixth at 197 in 2022, and sixth at 197 at the 2021 National Wrestling Coaches Association Division III national tournament, held after the NCAA tournament was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

At 285 pounds, No. 3 seed Tyler Kim (SR, Burnsville, Minn./Apple Valley HS) claimed his first national title with a 4-2 win over No. 4 seed Michael Douglas of Wisconsin-La Crosse. Kim scored a takedown with 1:44 left in the first period, then scored an escape eight seconds into the second period. He withstood two escapes by Douglas to claim the victory, his fifth in his career over Douglas against one defeat. The two had met twice this season, with each winning one bout prior to the final.

Kim reached his second career national title match in dramatic fashion, with a 2-1 overtime win over No. 2-seed Rayshawn Dixon of Ferrum (Va.) in the semifinals. Tied 1-1 in the sudden victory session, Kim drove on a shot at the boundary, and in trying to avoid a decisive takedown, Dixon grabbed and pulled on the edge of the mat, a technical violation that gave a penalty point and the win to Kim.

Kim finished the season at 30-2 with 16 pins, a technical fall and three major decisions, and capped his career at 124-24 with 68 pins, six technical falls and 14 major decisions. He is now a four-time All-American for the Auggies, finishing third at 285 last year, fourth at 285 in 2022 and second at 285 at the 2021 NWCA national tournament.

Augsburg claimed four All-American placewinners in Saturday’s early session, going 4-0 with a pair of pins in the consolation placing matches. Augsburg earned six All-Americans at the tournament, with fifth-place finishers Blake Jagodzinske (JR, Sherburn, Minn./Martin County West) at 157 and Cooper Willis (SO, Kansasville, Wis./Union Grove HS) at 165, and seventh-place finishers Seth Goetzinger (JR, Chatfield, Minn./Chatfield HS) and Parker Venz (JR, Farmington, Minn./Farmington HS) at 197. (MORE INFO ON THE FOUR PLACEWINNERS: )

Augsburg has now won 15 NCAA Division III national titles in school history (1991, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2015, 2019, 2023, 2024), tied with Wartburg for the most team titles in Division III. Either Augsburg or Wartburg has won every Division III national title since 1995.

Augsburg has finished among the top two teams in men’s wrestling national competition 29 times since 1975, and has finished among the top 20 teams nationally every year since 1971.

Augsburg now has 59 men’s wrestling national champions in school history — a record 55 in NCAA Division III competition (since 1983), four in NAIA competition (1968-1983).

Augsburg has had at least one All-American in national competition every year since 1977 — 48 straight years. Augsburg has now earned 281 men’s wrestling All-Americans in school history (230 in NCAA competition. 38 in NAIA, 13 by the NWCA in 2020 and 2021).

Augsburg has earned at least two All-Americans every year since 1988 and has had at least five All-Americans in 32 of the last 35 seasons.

Schwanebeck-Ostermann and Kim are now two of nine Auggies to earn four or more All-American honors in their careers. Steve Gliva ’85 earned five All-American honors (two in NAIA, three in NCAA), while Tom Hall ’85, John Beatty ’90, Nik Lewandowski ’01, Marcus LeVesseur ’07, Chad Johnson ’14 and Lucas Jeske ’20 all earned four All-American honors each.

NCAA Division III National Championships results


  • 157 — No. 1 Nolan Hertel (Wisconsin-La Crosse) maj. dec. No. 5 Blake Jagodzinske (Augsburg) 11-3; No. 7 Clayton McDonough (Luther) pinned Jagodzinske 5:53. Fifth-place match: Jagodzinske dec. No. 4 Ryan Smith (Stevens) 8-5.
  • 165 — No. 3 Cooper Willis (Augsburg) dec. Dustin Bohren (Loras) 10-7 (OT-SV1); No. 1 Matt Lackman (Alvernia) dec. Willis 6-0. Fifth-place match: Willis dec. No. 6 Will Esmoil (Coe) 7-5.
  • 174 — No. 7 Charlie Grygas (Oswego State) maj. dec. No. 3 Seth Goetzinger (Augsburg) 19-9. Seventh-place match: Goetzinger pinned No. 4 Stefan Major (Stevens) 4:26.
  • 184 — No. 1 Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann (Augsburg) maj. dec. Sampson Wilkins (Castleton) 9-0. National championship match: Schwanebeck-Ostermann tech. fall Ryan DeVivo (Johnson & Wales) 19-2 at 6:36.
  • 197 — No. 2 Coy Spooner (U.S. Coast Guard Academy) dec. No. 5 Parker Venz (Augsburg) 6-3. Seventh-place match: Venz pinned No. 4 Ben Kawczynski (Wisconsin-La Crosse) 0:59.
  • 285 — No. 3 Tyler Kim (Augsburg) dec. No. 2 Rayshawn Dixon (Ferrum) 2-1 (OT-SV1). National championship match: Kim dec. No. 4 Michael Douglas (Wisconsin-La Crosse) 4-2.

Check out Auggies Wrestling at and on Facebook and X (Twitter).

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?