NSIC announces Winter All-Academic Team with 5 SMSU wrestlers recognized

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference has announced the 2023-24 Winter All-Academic team, with 48 Southwest Minnesota State University student-athletes, including five wrestlers, being recognized during the winter season.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team, members must have a 3.20 cumulative GPA or higher. To be named to the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, a student-athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative GPA or higher.

Additionally, the student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team and in at least their second year of competition at their current institution (true freshmen, redshirt freshmen, and ineligible athletic transfers are not eligible).

SMSU had three wrestlers earn Team of Excellence accolades.

Southwest Minnesota State University NSIC Winter All-Academic Wrestlers:

NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence
Hunter Pfantz, Sr., State Center, Iowa
Elijah Sterner, Jr., Cottonwood, Minn.
Sean Howk, Jr., New Ulm, Minn.

NSIC All-Academic
Jacob Dykes, Sr., Iowa City, Iowa
Lucas Hodges, Jr., Cottonwood, Minn.

Check out Mustangs Wrestling at smsumustangs.com. Follow on Facebook, X (Twitter), and Instagram. Buy Mustangs Tickets.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?