Former SCSU Wrestler Named to 2024 Northern Sun Hall of Fame Class

Shamus O’Grady will be inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame on July 9 in Bloomington

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Former St. Cloud State Wrestling standout and 2023 SCSU Athletics Hall of Fame inductee Shamus O’Grady was announced as a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) 2024 Hall of Fame class on Monday by the league office. O’Grady, who wrestled for the Huskies from 2009-2013, will be officially inducted during a ceremony on Tuesday, July 9, during the NSIC’s annual Summer Kickoff event at the DoubleTree by Hilton Bloomington-Minneapolis South.

O’Grady is one of six former student-athletes and one team in the NSIC’s 2024 Hall of Fame class, joining Bryan Lippincott (Concordia-St. Paul), John Alin (MSU Moorhead), Carly Boag (Minot State), Matt Meuleners (Northern State), Chris Pack (Southwest Minnesota State) and the 2008-09 Minnesota State Women’s Basketball Team.

Continue reading →

Auggie men’s wrestlers to be honored by state, Twins

MINNEAPOLIS — The 15-time national champion Augsburg University men’s wrestling team will be honored by both the state of Minnesota and the Minnesota Twins on Tuesday (6/18), with a statewide proclamation issued by the governor and a pregame ceremony before Tuesday’s Twins game at Target Field.

Minnesota Governor Tim Walz and Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan signed a proclamation declaring Tuesday “Augsburg Men’s Wrestling Day” in Minnesota, honoring the Auggies’ 2024 NCAA Division III national championship, the 15th national title in school history and second in a row.

Head coach Tony Valek ’12 will throw out the ceremonial first pitch before Tuesday’s Twins game against Tampa Bay, scheduled to start at 6:40 p.m. at Target Field. Valek, his coaching staff and members of the 2023-24 Auggies will be honored on the field prior to Valek throwing out the first pitch. The game takes place during Augsburg’s wrestling team camp, which is taking place this week on the Augsburg campus.

Continue reading →

St. Cloud State Adds Nine to 2024 Signing Class

Huskies’ 2024 recruiting class increases to 17

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – St. Cloud State Wrestling head coach, Steve Costanzo has announced the addition of nine student-athletes to the Huskies’ strong 2024 recruiting class. Landyn Crance (Union City, Mich.), Brandon Eusebio (San Diego, Calif.), Isaiah Foster (Wahoo, Neb.), Patrick Kubisa (Hopkins, Minn.), Dominic Mann (Kasson, Minn.), La’Ron Parks (South Euclid, Ohio), David Platt (Hibbing, Minn.), Gabriel Smith (Pullman, Wash.) and Jeroen Smith (Pullman, Wash).

Along with their new additions, the Huskies signed eight additional standouts for 2024-25 in the fall of this past year. Hudson Burnett (Pipestone, Minn.), Vance Barz (Sauk Rapids, Minn.), Mason Carpenter (Oshkosh, Wis.), Led Edblad Cambridge, Minn.), Austin Grzywinski (West St. Paul, Minn.), Brody Hart (Neenah, Wis.), Jayce Luna (Bettendorf, Iowa) and Hunter Robbins (Canton, Ill.).

Continue reading →