Auggies No. 2 in wrestling rankings

MINNEAPOLIS — With seven individuals ranked among the top 10 in their individual weight classes, the Augsburg College wrestling team is ranked second in the preseason National Wrestling Coaches Association Division III national rankings, it was announced recently.

Defending national champion Chad Johnson (JR, Ferryville, Wis./De Soto HS) is the top-ranked wrestler at heavyweight, while Will Keeter (JR, Twin Falls, Idaho) will enter the season as the No. 2-ranked wrestler at 149 pounds. Three All-Americans, five national tournament qualifiers and seven starters will return to the 2012-13 Auggie lineup.

Continue reading →

Audio Interview with St. Cloud State Coach Steve Costanzo

KVSC’s John O. Peterson interviews #2 St. Cloud State University wrestling coach Steve Costanzo.

Costanzo talks about his team’s preseason progress and the upcoming Black/Red Classic intra-squad match on Friday, Nov. 2 in Halenbeck Hall. This annual match will begin at 7 p.m. and it will feature honorary coaches Bob Boeck and John Sundgren this year.

Continue reading →

Minnesota Ranked No. 1/No. 3 in Preseason Polls

Gophers voted No. 1 by NWCA/USAToday, named No. 3 by InterMat

Look out wrestling nation! Minnesota Wrestling has been voted the preseason favorite, earning seven first-place votes for a total of 397 points, in the NWCA/USA Today Division I Team Coaches Preseason Poll. In the first of many to be released by the NCAA this season, eight Big Ten teams are represented in the preseason poll, six of which are denoted in the top 10 and four in the top 5.

The Golden Gophers start their season right where they left off. After a season of a 14-3 overall record and a final 2011-12 ranking at No. 1, the team is picked as the national leader again this year. Minnesota returns all but two wrestlers to the starting lineup, including five All-Americans, Big Ten Champion Kevin Steinhaus, and National Heavyweight Champion Tony Nelson. The Gophers will also benefit from an influx of fresh talent as they welcome 12 newcomers to this year’s roster.

Continue reading →