Cornell sensation Kyle Dake aiming for history this weekend

The 165-pounder could become the first four-time champion to win at a different weight each year.

Jordan Burroughs is a lot like most wrestling fans once you get past his Olympic gold medal, apparel endorsements and thousands of Twitter followers.

The reigning world champion appreciates the sport’s hot-topic discussions and fantasy matches as much as the message-board addicts, but Burroughs carries enough clout that college wrestling’s top stars take note when he speaks. Continue reading at

3 Auggie wrestlers earn Scholar All-America honors

MINNEAPOLIS — Three Augsburg College wrestlers who competed in this past weekend’s NCAA Division III National Championships earned Scholar All-America honors from the National Wrestling Coaches Association, it was announced during the championships.

Two-time heavyweight national champion Chad Johnson (JR, Ferryville, Wis./DeSoto HS), two-time 174-pound national tournament qualifier Josh Kohler (SR, Monticello, Minn.) and 141-pound national qualifier Tom Kuehn (SO, Fargo, N.D./West Fargo HS) all earned Scholar All-America honors. It’s the second straight year that Johnson has earned the honor, and the first award for Kohler and Kuehn.

Continue reading →

Costanzo and O’Grady Earn Top NSIC Wrestling Honors for 2012-13

St. Cloud State University senior wrestler Shamus O’Grady was named the 2012-13 NSIC Wrestler of the Year and Husky head coach Steve Costanzo was named the 2012-13 NSIC Coach of the Year. The Huskies also placed eight athletes on the 2012-13 All-NSIC teams.

Huskies named to the 2012-13 All-NSIC First Team included Eric Forde (125 lbs), Andy Pokorny (133 lbs.), Jacob D. Horn (149 lbs.), Clint Poster (157 lbs.), O’Grady (184 lbs.) and Jacob Kahnke (285 lbs.). SCSU wrestlers named ot the All-NSIC Second Team in 2012-13 included Matt Nelson (141 lbs.) and Gabe Fogarty (165 lbs.).

Continue reading →