Northwestern Duals

SDSU posts 1-2 record at Northwestern Duals

EVANSTON, Ill. – The South Dakota State wrestling team posted a 1-2 record Sunday afternoon at the Northwestern Duals. The event was hosted in Evanston, Ill. at the Northwestern Sports Pavilion and Aquatic Center.

The Jackrabbits lost to Wisconsin-Parkside 28-18 and Northwestern 41-0 but defeated Wisconsin-Whitewater 24-13.

Continue reading →

Mavericks Begin Season with Shutout Victory against Waldorf

Mavericks Begin Season with Shutout Victory against Waldorf
Five Mavericks Earn Victories by Fall

Mankato, Minn. – The Minnesota State wrestling team opened the 2010-11 season with a 49-0 victory against Waldorf College at Bresnan Arena Wednesday night in front of 315 fans.

The Mavericks dominated from the start as David Demo earned a victory by fall over Jeff Ohnemus in 3:50 which was one of five victories by fall on the night.  Also recording victories by fall were Robby Fisher (4:05), John Makabe (5:55), Aaron Norgren (2:57), and Jake Herman (:36).

One of the most impressive wins of the night came from the night’s last match as Herman pinned his opponent Andrew Hartshorn in: 36 seconds.  Nate Haynes would then close out the match with a win by forfeit to give the Mavericks the shutout victory.

The Mavericks are next in action this weekend as they travel to Ames, Iowa for the Iowa State Open before traveling to Omaha, Neb., for the UNO Open the following weekend.

[scribd id=41972145 key=key-1tuq9vihjwwcexjgigwa mode=list]

St. Cloud State Black/Red Classic

St. Cloud, Minn. – The St. Cloud State University wrestling team kicked off the 2010-11 season at the annual Black/Red Classic on Friday, Nov.5, in Halenbeck Hall.  The Red team outscored the Black team 19-13 in front of over 200 SCSU wrestling fans.

Before the match, the Huskies honored two former St. Cloud State University greats: John Barrett (1987 Alum) and Nick Wilkes (2009 Alum).  Both men served as honorary coaches respectively for the team event.

St. Cloud State wrestling is gearing up for Harold Nichols Cyclone Open on Saturday, Nov. 13, in Ames, Iowa.  The Huskies are currently ranked #2 in the latest 2010-11 pre-season NCAA Div. II poll.  In the highly competitive Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference, the Huskies were selected #1 in the coaches’ 2010-11 pre-season poll.

Wrestle-Off Results
125 – Dylan Wright, decision Zach Stewart, 2-1
133 – Westy Hanson, decision Eric Ellington, 2-1
141 – Gabe Suarez, decision Matt Leibforth, 3-2
149 – Jacob D. Horn, decision Jacob R. Horn, 6-3
157 – Joey Falde, maj. decision Michael Kairouz, 11-3
165 – Tad Merritt, maj. decision Kurt Salmen, 16-5
174 – Shamus O’Grady, decision Ben McPhail, 4-1
184 – Mic Berg, decision Erik Rogness, 4-1
197 – Open
285 – Jacob Kahnke, winner by fall Chris Brassell, 2:45
149 (Exh.) – Chad Kubach, decision Josh Howk, 5-2