2023 MCC Region I Hall of Fame Banquet to take place on March 11th

The Mayo Civic Center Region I Wrestling Hall of Fame Committee has selected eight new members for induction on Saturday, March 11, 2023.

The banquet will be held at Charlie’s Eatery, 1654 US 52 N, Rochester, Minn.

Continue reading →

High School Milestones – Thursday, February 2, 2023

MSHSL votes for 13 weights for boys and girls wrestling

Minnesota State High School League Board of Directors Meeting Release 

BROOKLYN CENTER, Minn. — Participation in Girls and Boys Wrestling will be across 13 weight divisions each beginning with the 2023-2024 season following approval of the Minnesota State High School League’s Board of Directors at its scheduled meeting at League headquarters.

The newly-approved weight divisions come as a result of an NFHS wrestling rules modification that requires each state association to select the number of weight classes for their state at 12, 13 or 14.

The board used information from a survey of member schools and a recommendation from the League’s Wrestling Advisory Committee in making their decision. The approval brings alignment in the weight divisions between both genders of participants when enacted next school year.

Continue reading →

No Longer The Hunter – Zach Hanson

By Brian Jerzak

There is a saying out there that goes, close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades. For most athletes, second place in the state wrestling tournament would be considered a wildly successful season, and most athletes don't get anywhere near that close to a state championship. After two straight second-place finishes at State - for Lakeville North's Zach Hanson – close no longer counted, and he wouldn't be happy unless he was on top of the podium.

"Winning a state title (last season) was a relief," Hanson said. "There have been no slouches in the state finals in Minnesota. (St. Michael-Albertville's) Cole Becker was a great opponent. We had wrestled earlier in the season, and it was a quadruple overtime match. You couldn't tell which way it would go, but getting that takedown in overtime was the most relieving moment I have felt in a long time. Just to know I had finally done it and proven I could do it. Now this year, I can focus on improving and not worry about results as much as I used to."

Hanson entered his senior season as the hunted, not the hunter.

View exclusive subscriber content with The Guillotine Subscription. Current subscribers log in.

A rare juggling act: St. Charles’ Barclay handles competing in both basketball and wrestling

St. Charles senior Noelle Barclay is a contributor for the Saints on the hardwood and the wrestling mat.

ST. CHARLES — There are times when Noelle Barclay looks across the wrestling mats and wonders how exactly she got here.

Some of Barclay’s earliest memories of the sport involved her watching her younger brother compete at tournaments. She didn’t necessarily enjoy it.

“I used to cry because I felt bad,” Barclay said with a bit of a laugh. “It was little kids and they were crying. I obviously didn’t like that.” Continue reading at postbulletin.com →

High School Milestones – Tuesday, January 31, 2023

  • 75th Win – Evan Bartholomaus, Red Rock Central, 9th
  • 75th Win – Kollin Anderson, Saint James, 11th, 132 pounds
  • 50th Win – Carter Beranek, Red Rock Central, 11th
  • 50th Win – Treyce Ludwig, Eden Valley Watkins, 10th
  • 50th Win – Bailey Geist, Mille Lacs, 11th, 160 pounds