Minnesota 21 Wisconsin 15


Gophers Take Down No. 3 Badgers 21-15

MINNEAPOLIS — In front of a sold-out crowd of 5,225 at the Sports Pavilion, the No. 4 Minnesota wrestling team scored a 21-15 win over No. 3 Wisconsin capped off with a 3-2 decision victory by a returning Ben Berhow in the heavyweight match to lock up the win. The Gophers also picked up wins from Zach Sanders, Mike Thorn, Danny Zilverberg and Cody Yohn.

Wisconsin at Minnesota Photos

“I think the fans got their money’s worth today. We’re trying to get better and better each week going into the Big Ten tournament. We made some good progress today, and that’s what we’re looking for,” Minnesota head wrestling coach J Robinson said.

Berhow, a redshirt senior this year for the Gophers, was a late addition to the lineup – replacing an ill Tony Nelson at heavyweight – for the final matchup of the night against No. 11 Eric Bugenhagen with the score sitting at 18-15 in the Gophers’ favor. The pair of heavyweights dueled through a scoreless first period before Bugenhagen opened the second period with an escape to take a 1-0 lead. But Berhow, who hadn’t wrestled since Dec. 11, would bide his time until the third period, scoring an escape of his own and following up with a takedown in the match’s final seconds to jump ahead. Bugenhagen would score a late escape as time expired, giving Berhow a 3-2 decision in the match and the Gophers a 21-15 win in the dual.

“That was really special. I’ll remember that the rest of my life,” Berhow said. “And with the great crowd…it’s fun wrestling for them.”

Minnesota (13-3 overall, 4-0 Big Ten) once again opened the dual with a strong showing in the earlier matches. No. 5 Zach Sanders kicked off the afternoon with his 13th-straight dual win, this time taking down Tom Kelliher with an 11-8 decision. The Badgers (9-2-1, 0-0-1) would answer with a decision win in the 133 lbs. match as No. 3 Tyler Graff put together a 9-4 win over David Thorn.

The Gophers would add bonus points in three of the next four matches however as No. 2 Mike Thorn pinned Danny Arnel at 3:42 in the 141 lbs. match, Danny Zilverberg scored a 12-3 major decision over Shawn Perry at 149 lbs. and No. 11 Cody Yohn followed up a 9-3 loss in the 157 lbs. match with a 15-0 technical fall over Ben Cox in the 165 lbs. match.

The Badgers, who remain winless in Big Ten action, would make it interesting over the next three matches however, picking up a trio of decision in the 174-197 lbs. matches to head into the 285 lbs. match with Minnesota nursing an 18-15 lead. Bonus points by Wisconsin would have given the higher-ranked team a come from behind win while a decision would have given Wisconsin its second tie of the season. However, neither result would come as Berhow sent the packed house into a frenzy with the late takedown to seal the win in both the match and the dual.

Minnesota returns to action next Saturday at Ohio State. The dual can be watched live on the Big Ten Network.

No. 4 Minnesota vs. No. 3 Wisconsin
Sunday, January 30, 2011
Minneapolis, Minn. (Sports Pavilion)

Minnesota 21, Wisconsin 15
125: No. 5 Zach Sanders (MINN) dec. Tom Kelliher (WISC) 11-8
133: No. 3 Tyler Graff (WISC) dec. David Thorn (MINN)9-4
141: No. 2 Mike Thorn (MINN) fall Danny Arnel (WISC) 3:42
149: Danny Zilverberg (MINN) maj. Shawn Perry (WISC) 12-3
157: Kalvin York (WISC) dec. Joe Grygelko (MINN) 9-3
165: No. 11 Cody Yohn (MINN) tech. Ben Cox (WISC) 15-0; 3:27
174: No. 19 Ben Jordan dec. No. 8 Scott Glasser (MINN) 8-4
184: No. 3 Travis Rutt (WISC) dec. No. 9 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) 3-2
197: No. 2 Trevor Brandvold (WISC) dec. Joe Nord (MINN) 8-1
285: Ben Berhow (MINN) dec. No. 11 Eric Bugenhagen (WISC) 3-2

Minnesota 25 Indiana 14

Gophers Open Big Ten Season with 25-14 Win

MINNEAPOLIS — In front of thousands of fans and numerous Gopher wrestling alumni, including the 2001 NCAA Championship team, the No. 5 Minnesota wrestling team opened the Big Ten season victoriously on Friday night with a 25-14 win over Indiana.

Indiana at Minnesota

The Gophers (9-3 overall, 1-0 Big Ten) opened the dual with three straight wins including a pair that gave the program bonus points. All-American junior Zach Sanders kicked off the event with a 22-7 five-point technical fall over Justin Brooks in the 125 lbs. bout before redshirt freshman David Thorn scored a come-from behind 7-5 decision in sudden victory over Matt Ortega in the 133 lbs. match. Thorn, who trailed 5-3 in the third period, logged a two-point takedown with four seconds left in the period to force overtime and then tallied another takedown in the extra time frame to put Minnesota up 7-0 after two matches.

All-American senior Mike Thorn made it 13-0 Minnesota when he recorded a pin at 3:49 over Mitchell Richey in the 141 lbs. match for his ninth pin of the season and. The fall improved Mike Thorn’s record to 26-1 on the year and 12-0 in duals. The Hoosiers would eventually get on the scoreboard with a pair of wins in the middleweights. Kurt Kinser scored a 5-0 decision over Danny Zilverberg in the 141 lbs. match and No. 6 Paul Young tallied a 14-6 major decision Joe Grygelko in the 157 lbs. match to make it 13-7 Minnesota.

Cody Yohn ended the brief slide with a 2-0 decision over Ryan LeBlanc in the 165 lbs and then No. 8 Scott Glasser and No. 8 Kevin Steinhaus each followed up major decision victories. Glasser topped Nick Avery 11-3 in the 174 lbs. match and Steinhaus picked up a 10-1 win over Eric Cameron to put the Gophers out in front 25-7.

Indiana would go on to win the final two matches of the dual with a major decision in the 197 lbs. match and a sudden victory win in the heavyweight contest, but by then the dual was out of reach as the Gophers held on to pick up the 25-14 win.

Notes: Minnesota honored the 2001 NCAA Championship team during tonight’s match as the program celebrated the tenth anniversary of Minnesota’s first national team title. The Gophers return to action on Sunday at Iowa State.

No. 5 Minnesota vs. Indiana
Friday, January 14, 2011
Minneapolis, Minn.

Minnesota 25 Indiana 14
125: No. 5 Zach Sanders (MINN) tech. Justin Brooks (IU) 22-7
133: David Thorn (MINN) SV. Matt Ortega (IU) 7-5
141: No. 2 Mike Thorn (MINN) fall Mitchell Richey (IU ) 3:49
149: Kurt Kinser (IU) dec. Danny Zilverberg (MINN) 5-0
157: No. 6 Paul Young (IU) maj. Joe Grygelko(MINN) 14-6
165: No. 7 Cody Yohn (MINN) dec. Ryan LeBlanc (IU) 2-0
174: No. 8 Scott Glasser (MINN) maj. Nick Avery (IU) 11-3
184: No. 9 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) maj. Eric Cameron (IU)10-1
197: Matt Powless (IU) maj. Joe Nord (MINN) 13-3
285: No. 19 Ricky Alcala (IU) SV No. 9 Tony Nelson (MINN) 3-1

Concordia 55 Calumet 0

January 14, 2011 at Minneapolis, MN

Concordia 55 Calumet 0
125: Ben Presler (Concordia) MD 9-0 Anthony Hawkins (Calumet)
133: Daron Hohbein (Concordia) MD 15-4 Tony Lovejoy (Calumet)
141: Ben Anderson (Concordia) Forf (Calumet)
149: Kevin Fynboh (Concordia) Forf (Calumet)
157: Justin Berns (Concordia) TF5 15-0 2:54 Ryan Peters (Calumet)
165: Jordan Bendson (Concordia) Inj Def Johnathan Tyler (Calumet)
174: Ross Dankers (Concordia) Forf (Calumet)
184: Phil Moenkedick (Concordia) fall 1:51 Anthony Nichols (Calumet)
197: Nathan Schmitz (Concordia) fall 2:22 Arthur Grubba (Calumet)
285: Tom Bouressa (Concordia) fall 3:25 Torrance Callaway (Calumet)

Concordia vs Calumet

Northern Quad

Round 1

No. 3 Minnesota 30, Appalachian State 6
125: Zach Sanders (MINN) fall Tony Gravely 4:26
133: Thane Antczak (MINN) dec. Chris Johnson 7-5
141: Mike Thorn (MINN) maj. dec. Mike Kessler 15-4
149: Savva Kostis (ASU) dec. Danny Zilverberg (MINN) 10-8
157: Alec Ortiz (MINN) maj. dec. John Blakely 14-3
165: Cody Yohn (MINN) dec. Kyle Blevins 8-5
174: Scott Glasser (MINN) maj. dec. Carter Downs 21-7
184: Austin Trotman (ASU) dec. Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) 11-9
197: Sonny Yohn (MINN) dec. Paul Glover 7-0
Hwt: Tony Nelson (MINN) over Marc Tyson 7-1

Continue reading →