St. Cloud State Black/Red Classic

St. Cloud, Minn. – The St. Cloud State University wrestling team kicked off the 2010-11 season at the annual Black/Red Classic on Friday, Nov.5, in Halenbeck Hall.  The Red team outscored the Black team 19-13 in front of over 200 SCSU wrestling fans.

Before the match, the Huskies honored two former St. Cloud State University greats: John Barrett (1987 Alum) and Nick Wilkes (2009 Alum).  Both men served as honorary coaches respectively for the team event.

St. Cloud State wrestling is gearing up for Harold Nichols Cyclone Open on Saturday, Nov. 13, in Ames, Iowa.  The Huskies are currently ranked #2 in the latest 2010-11 pre-season NCAA Div. II poll.  In the highly competitive Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference, the Huskies were selected #1 in the coaches’ 2010-11 pre-season poll.

Wrestle-Off Results
125 – Dylan Wright, decision Zach Stewart, 2-1
133 – Westy Hanson, decision Eric Ellington, 2-1
141 – Gabe Suarez, decision Matt Leibforth, 3-2
149 – Jacob D. Horn, decision Jacob R. Horn, 6-3
157 – Joey Falde, maj. decision Michael Kairouz, 11-3
165 – Tad Merritt, maj. decision Kurt Salmen, 16-5
174 – Shamus O’Grady, decision Ben McPhail, 4-1
184 – Mic Berg, decision Erik Rogness, 4-1
197 – Open
285 – Jacob Kahnke, winner by fall Chris Brassell, 2:45
149 (Exh.) – Chad Kubach, decision Josh Howk, 5-2

Regional Skin Specialists for Wrestling

Allan Clark, M.D.
Olmsted Medical Center
111 Co Road 11 NW
Pine Island, MN 55963
(507) 356-4929

Leo Hise, M.D.
Northern Pines Orthopedic Clinic
Grand Rapids, MN
(218) 326-6677

Craig Kuhlmann, M.D.
Innovis Health
1401 13th Ave. S.
West Fargo, ND
(701) 364-5751

Joel Baumgartner, M.D.
Rejuv Medical Center
2330 Troop Drive, Suite 105A
Sartell, MN
(320) 217-8480

Tony Amon, M.D.
Family Practice Medical Center
501 2nd St. SW, Suite 1
Wilmar, MN 56201
(320) 231-8888

B.J. Anderson, M.D.
401 Church St SE
Boynton Health Service
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN 55455
(612) 626-0421

Nominations for Meritorious Service Award

The State Chapter Of Minnesota National Wrestling Hall of Fame is seeking nominations for the Meritorious Service Award.


  • Nominee must have served their community or country.
  • Military • Law enforcement • Firefighters • Government service
  • Must have been directly involved or associated with amateur wrestling.

The following items must accompany the nomination from:

  • A letter with your signature telling why the nominee is a valid candidate.
  • A detailed resume of the candidate’s personal history and qualifications.
  • A minimum of three (3) letters of character reference and support of the nomination.
  • Further documentation (copies of articles, tributes etc…) is welcome.

Each year one nominee will be selected, recognized and presented an award at the Hall of Fame Banquet. Sponsored by the Minnesota Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. This is a state award. This year the Awards Banquet is at the Holiday Inn, Austin, MN on Saturday, April 16, 2011.

Meritorious Service Award nomination form (pdf)

Jordan Holm to go ‘On the Mat’ this week

Former Minnesota state champion and Northern Iowa wrestler Jordan Holm will go “On the Mat” this Wednesday, October 6.

Holm wrestled for the University of Northern Iowa and was one match away from being an All-American in 2003 at 184 pounds. He won both the Greco-Roman and freestyle portions of the Northern Plains Regional in Waterloo, Iowa, in May. Holm currently resides in Minnesota.

“On the Mat” is a presentation of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum. The show can be heard live on the Internet at or locally in Northeast Iowa each Wednesday from 5:05 – 6:00 PM CST on AM 1650, The Fan.

E-mail with any questions or comments about the show.

Kyle Malin Golf Scramble Benefit

Kyle Malin, 2002 Farmington graduate, was a three sport athlete in high school and qualified for the State Wrestling Tournament in 2000 and 2002. US Army Staff Sgt. Kyle Malin served three tours in Irag and was deployed to Afghanistan in June, 2010. On July 14, while on patrol, Staff Sgt Kyle Malin was severely injured by an IED, and lost both legs in the explosion. Kyle is in Walter Reed Hospital and has undergone many operations for his wounds, and still has many extensive surgeries before he can be fit with prosthetics and be released from the hospital. Kyle and his wife Alicia have two sons, ages 3 and 5.

Jon Malin, Kyle’s father and former Belle Plaine and UMD wrestler, is presently teaching and coaching football at Farmington High School. He was head wrestling coach at Farmington High School from 1985-2002. Jon and Deb Malin reside in Lakeville.

Friends of the family have arranged the Kyle Malin Golf Scramble Benefit to be held at Heritage Links Golf Course in Lakeville on Sept. 18, 2010 with a shotgun start at 11:30 am. (See flyer). Donations of money, silent auction items, and raffle prizes, are appreciated. Hole sponsorships are available and will include dinner and entertainment for two for each business sponsorship. Any questions, please call Byron Olson, (c) 763-300-5825 or (home) 952-469-3075.

Entry Form/Flyer (pdf)