Clash of defending champs adds heft to wrestling event

One dilemma for NCAA wrestling has been to create some buzz for the November start of its season, not just the national finals in March. Kyle Dake of Cornell and David Taylor of Penn State will do their parts.

Wrestling a weight class apart last season, Dake and Taylor were unbeaten Division I champions. In their sport, they are sensations. Something has to give Saturday when they meet in the 165-pound class at the 47th annual All-Star Classic at American University in Washington, D.C. Continue reading at

Fall Youth Wrestling Clinic a Success at St. Cloud State

St. Cloud, Minn. – The seventh annual Husky Fall Wrestling Clinic was a big hit this past weekend on the campus of St. Cloud State University.  Over 70 participants and coaches attended the one day event on Saturday, Oct. 27 in the Halenbeck Hall Fieldhouse.

Former St. Cloud State University wrestling great and guest clincian Derek Skala highlighted the event as the clinic serves as an annual kick-off to the 2012-13 wrestling season. Continue reading