Braun looks to break into top 10

Apollo senior hopes to be state-ranked for tournament

Matt Braun is really, really looking forward to Friday.

Not that St. Cloud Apollo’s wrestling match tonight at Holdingford doesn’t interest him. That’s fun. So will be the the 20th Annual Jim Kiffmeyer Duals at about 10:30 a.m. Saturday at St. Cloud Tech.

“It’s fun going against some of the best teams in the state,” Braun said. Continue reading at

Bison Set for Tourney Action at Virginia Duals

The No. 22-ranked North Dakota State wrestling team heads to Hampton, Va., this weekend to take part in the Virginia Duals on Jan. 11-12. The tournament format is a 16-team, double-elimination dual tournament, with each team guaranteed a minimum of three duals. The opening round begins at 8 a.m. (CT) on Friday, Jan. 11, with the championship and third-place duals set for 7:30 p.m. (CT) on Saturday, Jan. 12.

The Bison will open with a dual against No. 8-seeded Arizona State at 8 a.m. Friday morning, with the winner earning a showdown with either top-seeded Central Michigan or Rider in the quarterfinals. Continue reading

AWN Preview: Division III National Duals

For the second year in a row, some of the best college wrestling action outside of Division I will take place on the mats at the Prairie Capital Convention Center in Springfield, Ill. as the National Wrestling Coaches Association will host the NWCA/Cliff Keen Multi-Divisional National Duals.

The field will consist of teams from Division II, Division III, NAIA, NJCAA and the WCWA in a dual meet advancement format to crown a champion in each of the five divisions. Continue reading at

High School Results – Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Alexandria 47 Rocori 19
Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City 47, Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley 17
Barnesville 53 Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 12
Becker 40 Mora 28
Border West 46 Sisseton 24
Chisago Lakes 31 Milaca 29
Crestwood 57 Fillmore Central/Lanesboro/Mabel-Canton 21
Decorah 40 Caledonia/Houston/Spring Grove 32
Detroit Lakes 56, Park Rapids 6
Eden Prairie 33, Eastview 29
Frazee 51 Fergus Falls 12
Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther 39 New Ulm 38
Minneota 57 Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove 3
New York Mills 37 Bertha Hewitt Verndale 31
Osakis 49 Royalton/Upsala 20
Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 52, Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena 22
Saint James Area 60, River Valley 12
United North Central 64 Staples-Motley 6
United South Central 54 Blooming Prairie 24
Wabasso/Red Rock Central 31, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 29
Adrian Triangular
Adrian 51 Fulda/Murray County Central 19
Adrian 61 Marshall/Lakeview 14
Marshall/Lakeview 40 Fulda/Murray County Central 32
BOLD Triangular
Paynesville 35 BOLD 27
Canby 31 BOLD 30
Canby 52 Paynesville 15
Ortonville Triangular
West Central Area/Ashby/Evansville 36 Minewaska 36
West Central Area/Ashby/Evansville 54 Ortonville 27
Minnewaska 51, Ortonville 30
Pelican Rapids Triangular
Pelican Rapids 48 Breckenridge/Campbell-Tintah 21
Perham 48 Pelican Rapids 16
Pierz Triangular
Pierz 72 Eden Valley-Watkins 19
Pierz 72 Rockford 7
Richfield/Edina Triangular
Richfield/Edina 38 Spectrum 24
Benilde-Saint Margaret's 53 Spectrum 21
Benilde-Saint Margaret's 47 Richfield/Edina 30
Saint Cloud Tech Triangular
Sartell-Saint Stephen 44 Saint Cloud Tech 21
Little Falls 57 Sartell-Saint Stephen 10
Little Falls 56 Saint Cloud Tech 22
Tri City United Triangular
Tri City United 49 Saint Clair/Mankato Loyola 21
Tri City United 52 Medford 30
Saint Clair/Mankato Loyola 52 Medford 24
Watertown-Mayer Triangular
Watertown-Mayer/Mayer Lutheran 65 LeSueur-Hednerson 7
Glencoe-Silver Lake/Lester Prairie 60 LeSueur-Hednerson 12
Watertown-Mayer/Mayer Lutheran 36 Glencoe-Silver Lake/Lester Prairie 28