Minnesota Wrestling Inks Three in Early Signing Period

Robinson adds three local Minnesotans to 2013-14 Gopher roster

The No. 1 Golden Gophers have announced the addition of three in-state wrestlers for the 2013-14 season. Jake Short, Nick Wanzek, and Nate Thomas all signed National Letters of Intent during the early signing period to wrestle next fall. Continue reading

Trembley to Wrestle at St. Cloud State University

St. Cloud, Minn. – St. Cloud State University head wrestling coach Steve Costanzo and his staff has announced the addition of Taner Trembley to the Huskies’ roster beginning in the fall 2013. Trembley is a senior at Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial High School.

“I am so excited to get Taner on board,” said Costanzo. “Taner is one of the best student-wrestler’s in the state of Minnesota. He has an exciting style of wrestling that is fun to watch. Combined with an outstanding work ethic and a passion for the sport of wrestling, Taner wrestles for seven minutes and has very few weaknesses on the mat.” Continue reading

The weekend of December 7-8 will be a big one in Jackson

Courtesy of Lee Larson, KKOJ-KRAQ Radio

On Pearl Harbor Day on Friday, Dec. 7, the Jackson County Central wrestling program will honor the nation’s veterans; a couple of its former wrestlers attending the Air Force Academy; and host a series of eight dual meets.

On Saturday, Dec. 8, the Huskies will host a tournament with both varsity and JV divisions. Continue reading

Gophers Make History with Sweep of Bison Quad

Robinson became the all-time winningest coach in Minnesota Wrestling history

The No. 1 Minnesota Wrestling program swept the Bison Quad today at the Bison Sports Arena in Fargo, N.D., to move to 6-0 on the year. The Gophers competed against Eastern Michigan, Itasca Community College and host team North Dakota State. With three wins on the day, head coach J Robinson became Minnesota Wrestling’s all-time winningest coach, boasting an overall record of 394-129-4 in 27 years with the program. Minnesota also surpassed 900 total program wins at the quadrangular meet, becoming only the sixth collegiate team in the nation to reach that mark. Continue reading