Auggies Preparing For An Exciting Season

Augsburg University looks to continue the momentum from 2019

By Matt Krumrie

It's been a wild couple of years for the Augsburg University men's wrestling team since its 2019 national championship season - the 13th in the storied program's history. The 2019-2020 season was rolling along - the Auggies claimed yet another Upper Midwest Regional championship, only to see the NCAA DIII championships canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The 2020-2021 season was also full of oddities, including restricted schedules and canceled regional and national tournaments. The only saving grace in 2021 was the emergence of the NWCA Division III national championships, set up by the NWCA to allow DIII schools who could compete, a chance to wrestle in a national championship format tournament. No team scores were kept, and five Auggies earned NWCA All-American honors: Tyler Shilson (3rd/157), Solomon Nielsen (2nd/174), Nick Rogge (5th/184), Bentley Schwanebeck-Ostermann (6th/197), and Tyler Kim (2nd/285). Four other Augsburg wrestlers also qualified, including Justin Stauffacher (125), Brady Gross (141), Charlie Stuhl (149), and Connor Thorsten (165).

It was a strong finish to an odd season. The good news is all those wrestlers are back for the 2021-2022 season. And so far, all systems are a go, with a full schedule planned - and a chance for Augsburg to continue to build on its tradition of excellence.

View this post with The Guillotine Subscription - save $5 through October w/code 'folkstyle2122' - current subscribers log in.

Augsburg alum Donny Longendyke ’17 takes 2nd at Pan-Am Championships

Augsburg alumnus Donny Longendyke ’17 finished second for USA Wrestling in the 130 kg (287 pounds) Greco-Roman bracket at the 2021 Senior Pan American Championships in Guatemala City, Guatemala on Thursday.

Longendyke went 3-0 to reach the finals, beating Luis Roman Barrios (Mexico) 5-2, Catriel Pehuen Muriel (Argentina) 8-4 and Isaque Medeiros Conserva (Brazil) 6-1. Longendyke dropped a 3-0 decision to Leo Santana Heredia (Dominican Republic) in the finals.

Continue reading →

Xavier Johnson and Jamel Johnson Win Gold Medals; Four Others Claim Silver at Pan Am Championships

Minnesota Storm Wrestler Donny Longendyke Wins Silver

GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala – The USA collected two gold medals and four silver medals to wrap up the first day of Greco-Roman competition at the 2021 Pan American Championships in Guatemala City, Guatemala.

Winning gold medals tonight were Marines athletes Xavier Johnson (67 kg) and Jamel Johnson (72 kg).

Xavier Johnson, an Olympic Trials runner-up and Senior Nationals champion, dominated his way to gold today, giving the fans a show with multiple five-point throws throughout the competition. In the finals, he finished off Enyer Feliciano of the Dominican Republic in just 1:12, scoring a two-pointer, followed by a lift for four points and finally a huge throw for five to win 11-0, securing his first international gold medal. Overall, Xavier went 4-0, outscoring his competition 38-3. Continue reading at →

Donny Wichmann Foundation Gives Back

By Jeff Beshey

When Donny Wichmann passed away in July 2019 at the age of 53, it left a void in the Minnesota wrestling community. He touched the lives of the many people he met in a special way – whether as a family member, a teammate, a coach, a friend, or even just an acquaintance.

At Donny’s funeral, a group of Augsburg Wrestling alumni came together to celebrate his life, and that’s when the idea of a Donny Wichmann Foundation came into being.

Continue reading →

2021 NWCA Division III Scholar All-America Awards

Manheim, PA – On Monday, the National Wrestling Coaches Association announced the 2021 Scholar All-American individual honorees for NCAA Division III with awards going to 413 individuals representing 84 institutions.

“In what has been a trying season for all, I’m excited to recognize these talented athletes who stayed the course in the classroom and continued their pursuit of excellence as they work toward their degrees,” said NWCA Executive Director Mike Moyer. “The NWCA and our Board of Directors remain committed to honoring outstanding academic performance and would like to thank the coaches, support staff, and administrators at these institutions for their commitment to their student-athletes .”

Continue reading →