Bogart Earns CoSIDA Academic Honors

MOORHEAD, Minn. — Concordia senior Benjamin Bogart (Alexandria, Minn.) was named to the Academic All-District At-Large Team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

The “At-Large” distinction covers student-athletes who compete in women’s crew/rowing, men’s and women’s fencing, women’s field hockey men’s and women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s and women’s ice hockey, men’s and women’s lacrosse, men’s and women’s swimming and diving, men’s and women’s tennis and wrestling.

Bogart was one of only 11 student-athletes chosen for the District 6 At-Large Team. Concordia was one of only three schools in the district to have more than one student-athlete earn the award as men’s hockey senior Tyler Bossert also earned the honor.

Continue reading →

Vos earns Academic All-District honors

ST. CLOUD, MINN. – St. Cloud State University wrestler Garrett Vos (Bonifacius, Minn. / Waconia) will need to make more room in his trophy case. The redshirt junior earned First Team Academic All-District honors from the College of Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Thursday afternoon, becoming the sixth wrestler in program history to earn the prestigious honor.

Thanks to an impressive academic and athletic resume, Vos earned Academic All-District honors for the first time in his career and extends the wrestling team’s streak to five consecutive years with at least one representative on the CoSIDA All-District teams. A criminal justice major, Vos was named to the 2020-21 Division II Academic All-District 7 Men’s At-Large team after maintaining a GPA of 3.66 during the academic year while leading the Huskies to their third consecutive national title in March.

Continue reading →

St. Cloud State announces 2020-21 team award winners

ST. CLOUD, MINN. – The St. Cloud State University wrestling team had no shortage of things to celebrate at the Annual Team Banquet Friday evening. The Huskies won their third consecutive national championship and saw a slew of wrestlers find individual success throughout the 2020-21 season. During the banquet, Steve Costanzo announced the 2020-21 team award winners, including the Dean Weisman Wrestler of the Year award.

Kameron Teacher (Grove City, Ohio / Central Crossing) closed out his oustanding senior season with St. Cloud State by earning his third wrestler of the year honor, as he was named the Dean Weisman Wrestler of the Year at Friday’s banquet. Teacher already took home the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) and National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) DII Wrestler of the Year awards earlier this year, and additionally won team awards for most individual wins, most points and most bonus point wins Friday night.

Continue reading →