2017 Golden Goldys Handed Out

Brett Pfarr was named University of Minnesota Male Athlete of the Year

University of Minnesota volleyball and men’s basketball teams highlighted the 2017 Golden Goldys, held tonight at TCF Bank Stadium. The pair of teams took home seven Goldys awards as Intercollegiate Athletics recognized both the athletic and academic achievements of its more than 700 student-athletes.

Volleyball’s Sarah Wilhite had her name called twice as the female athlete of the year and breakthrough athlete of the year. Freshman Alexis Hart was named the female rookie of the year, while volleyball and head coach Hugh McCutcheon was named team and women’s team coach of the year. Continue reading at www.gophersports.com

St. Cloud State honors team award winners for 2016-17

The St. Cloud State University wrestling team completed its 2016-17 season with its annual team awards banquet on April 21. The event was held at the St. Cloud Holiday Inn and Suites and it recognized another season of outstanding accomplishments and success for the Huskies.

One of the nation’s elite NCAA Division II programs over the past decade, St. Cloud State charted a second place finish at the 2017 NCAA Division II championships. The Huskies were 17-1 overall and won their sixth consecutive NSIC championship in 2016-17 with a perfect 8-0 record. SCSU won the 2017 NWCA Division II National Duals and later captured the top spot at the 2017 NCAA Division II Super 3 Region tournament under the leadership of Coach Steve Costanzo.

The award banquet was highlighted by the induction of former SCSU wrestling standout Nate Toedter (class of 1989) into the Huskies’ Jack Gause Wrestling Hall of Fame, and Dennis Moske (class of 1977) was honored with an SCSU Alumni Achievement Award. Continue reading at www.scsuhuskies.com

Gophers Hand Out Hardware at Team Banquet

After a strong season that produced a collection of above-seed performances at the Big Ten and NCAA Championships, Minnesota’s season came to a ceremonial close on Sunday evening in Minneapolis at the annual team banquet. Boosters, fans, coaches and student-athletes gathered for dinner and a program that featured season highlights, individual team awards, recognition of first-time letterwinners and All-Americans, and speeches from six departing seniors.

Following a highlight video to kick off the event, the Gopher coaching staff handed out a collection of awards to Gophers wrestlers that honored a variety of accomplishments ranging from academic, to attitude, to athletic achievement. A full list of the award winners appears below. Continue reading

St. Cloud State wrestling banquet set for April 21

The St. Cloud State University wrestling team will recognize the achievements of its student-athletes during the recent 2016-17 season at the annual team awards banquet, which has been set for Friday, April 21 from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Holiday Inn in St. Cloud, Minn.

Individual and team accomplishments will be recognized and a highlight video of the year’s best and most exciting footage will be showed.  The banquet is always a fun way to wrap up the year as the Huskies look forward to the 2017-18 campaign. Continue reading

Waconia, Canby, and Willmar are top MWCA Academic Teams

Class AA Waconia is the top MWCA State Academic Team, Canby leads Class A, and Willmar is champs in Class AAA

Class AA Academic Champion Waconia had an impressive 3.849 team grade point average to lead all teams that applied for the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches’ Association Team Academic Award in 2017. Class A Champion Canby had a 3.816 GPA and Class AAA Champion Willmar turned in a 3.795 GPA. Congratulations to all three teams. Continue reading