Seeds Determined for 2022 Big 12 Championship

IRVING, Texas – The pre-seeds have been announced for the 2022 Big 12 Wrestling Championship, which is set for March 5-6 at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Iowa State led the Big 12 as its entire lineup received selections, highlighted by top-seeded Ian Parker (141 pounds) and David Carr (157). Missouri, North Dakota State, Oklahoma, and Oklahoma State each had nine seeds and Northern Iowa followed with eight.

Continue reading →

Carlson Earns Big 12 Scholar-Athlete Award

IRVING, Texas — South Dakota State’s Clay Carlson was honored Wednesday as the 2021 Big 12 Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year, becoming the first Jackrabbit to receive the award.

A redshirt sophomore from Willmar, Minnesota, Carlson has compiled a 3.931 grade-point average as an animal science/pre-veterinary major. He became the first SDSU wrestler to earn All-America recognition at the NCAA Division I Championships since 2018, placing eighth in the 141-pound weight class at the national meet. He qualified for the NCAA Championships with a fourth-place finish at the Big 12 Wrestling Championship in early March en route to a 20-9 record.

Continue reading →

Cordell Eaton Named Big 12 Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year

IRVING, Texas – North Dakota State 197-pounder Cordell Eaton was named the Big 12 Conference Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year as the conference announced its 2020 Winter Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

Eaton, a redshirt senior from Long Grove, Iowa, his the second NDSU wrestler to receive the award, joining former teammate and two-time recipient Clay Ream (2017, 2018).

Eaton qualified for his first NCAA tournament this season. He won the 197-pound true sixth place match to earn the AQ at the 2020 Big 12 Championship. Eaton went 4-2 at the Big 12 tournament and finished 15-12 overall.

Continue reading →

Franek, Fogarty Both No. 2, Seven Bison in Top Eight as Big 12 Wrestling Pre-Seeds Announced

IRVING, Texas – Pre-seeding for the 2020 Big 12 Wrestling Championship, set for March 7-8 at the BOK Center in Tulsa, was announced Wednesday, March 4. Seven North Dakota State wrestlers were in the top eight in their weight classes. All seeding and brackets are subject to change.

The pre-seeds were voted into their positions by the league’s 12 head coaches and are subject to change. Final seeds will be confirmed at Friday’s pre-championship coaches meeting.

Continue reading →

Jackrabbits Receive Big 12 Wrestling Championships Pre-Seeds

TULSA, Okla. – South Dakota State wrestlers Henry Pohlmeyer and Tanner Sloan are each seeded second in their respective weight classes for this weekend’s Big 12 Wrestling Championship. The top eight pre-seeds in each of the 10 weight classes were announced Wednesday by conference officials.

A senior from Johnston, Iowa, Pohlmeyer is seeded second in the 149-pound division after posting a 19-4 record so far this season. His lone loss against a Big 12 opponent was to top-seeded Boo Lewallen of Oklahoma State.

A two-time NCAA qualifier, Pohlmeyer is scheduled to face Seth Hogue of West Virginia in the opening round on Saturday.

Continue reading →

Single-Session Big 12 Wrestling Championship Tickets On Sale

IRVING, Texas–The BOK Center, along with the Tulsa Sports Commission and the Big 12 Conference, announced that single session tickets to the 2019 Big 12 Wrestling Championship at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma are officially on sale. The event is set to begin on Saturday, March 9 and run through Sunday, March 10.

Continue reading →