Tricia Saunders High School Excellence Award State Winners Announced

STILLWATER, Okla. – The National Wrestling Hall of Fame on Tuesday announced the state winners of the Tricia Saunders High School Excellence Award (TSHSEA).

First presented in 2014, the TSHSEA is named for Tricia Saunders, a four-time World Champion and women’s wrestling pioneer. Saunders was the first woman to be inducted as a Distinguished Member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2006 and was inducted into the United World Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2011.

The award recognizes and celebrates the nation’s most outstanding high school senior female wrestlers for their excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship, and community service.

For the third consecutive year, the Hall of Fame is recognizing a record number of state winners with 46, up from 35 winners in 2019 and 32 winners in 2018.

Continue reading →

Rybachek named Ms. Minnesota – Wrestling

Kya Rybachek of Hibbing High School has been awarded the Ms. Minnesota – Wrestling Award as the top senior female high school wrestler in the state.

Rybachek finishes her high school career as a two time Minnesota Girls High School State Champion. Having only competed in wrestling the past four years, Kya wasted no time getting to work as she earned All-American honors at Fargo this past July as well as becoming a Folkstyle All-American in Oklahoma City during the 2018 season.

Continue reading →