‘Feels like yesterday’: Steffen inducted into NSIC hall of fame

Link Steffen has taken plenty of his experiences and used them as tools to help the wrestlers on the Zumbrota-Mazeppa team. He said he’s not sure many of the wrestlers know he won a national championship during his collegiate career.

They might be aware now as Steffen was inducted into the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Hall of Fame last month. Steffen, along with six other individuals, was inducted in the hall of fame Class of 2022.

One of the biggest messages he sends to the team is to enjoy every moment. Steffen felt he did so during his career and wants others to savor the ability to compete.

“Enjoy each day to the best of your ability,” Steffen said. “Enjoy the most of it you can while you have it.” Continue reading at republicaneagle.com →

Link Steffen to be inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Former Southwest Minnesota State University wrestling standout Link Steffen will be inducted into the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Hall of Fame on Tuesday, July 12, the league announced on Wednesday. The induction ceremony will be held at the Courtyard by Marriott hotel in Moorhead, Minn., at the NSIC’s annual Summer Kickoff event. A social begins at 5:30 p.m. followed by the ceremony at 6 p.m.

Joining Steffen in the class of 2022 include: Maggie McNamara, Concordia University, St. Paul; Jim Kapitan, Minnesota State University Moorhead; Amanda (Madden) Mahlke, Northern State University; Matt Schneck, St. Cloud State University; Katie Wilson, Wayne State College; Ben Barrone, Winona State University.

Continue reading →

Steffen, Traen, Springer, and Murray are MWCA Coaches of the Year

Every spring at tournament time coaches from each high school section vote for their respective Section Head and Assistant Coach of the Year. Head coach selections are then put on a ballot to be voted on by all coaches at the State Tournament for Class AAA, AA, and A Coach of the Year.

2018 State Coach of the Year selections are: Class A – Link Steffen of Zumbrota-Mazeppa, Class AA – Joe Traen of Watertown-Mayer/Mayer Lutheran (Awarded Posthumously), and Class AAA – Todd Springer/Lucas Murray of Anoka.

Chisago Lakes Coach Shawn Frederixon was voted President-Elect and will be MWCA President in 2019-2020. Next season’s MWCA President is Neil Jennissen of Cambridge-Isanti.

2018 Section Coaches of the Year are Posted HERE.