Christmas Tournament Preview: The Twelve Days of Christmas

By John Nalan

As the coaches pack up their notebooks after the seeding meeting on the Thursday night of the Minnesota Christmas Tournament, the big day, Christmas, is only twelve days off. The classic Christmas carol, The Twelve Days of Christmas, was first published in 1780 in England. The wrestling tournament hasn’t been around that long, only 31 years, but that hasn’t stopped me from putting together my own version of the holiday classic for this year. So sit back and enjoy my twelve things to watch for this weekend. Continue reading

GG22: Previewing the Minnesota Christmas Tournament with John Nalan

gg22-allarEpisode 22 of The Guillotine Grapevine visits with Class 3A Rankings Editor John Nalan as we preview the 30th annual Minnesota Christmas Tournament.

While 3A teams are set to do some damage in Rochester, there’s also nine out-of-state teams coming into this year’s Christmas Tournament. Nalan previews the event in the December 9 issue of The Guillotine, but we also break down the fun things about this event, how it can signify the season truly is here in Minnesota and even what some people like to have as a pre-tournament meal.

We’ll also showcase the Milestones from Minnesota wrestling at the end of the show.

iTunes | Stitcher | Spreaker | iHeartRadio | Soundcloud | Google Play Music | RSS

Continue reading

GG05: John Nalan previews the Minnesota Christmas Tournament and Minnesota’s Brett Pfarr talks Gopher wrestling

gg5-pfarrJohn Nalan, the AAA rankings editor for The Guillotine will join us on Episode 5 of the Guillotine Grapevine to preview the upcoming All Force Nutrition Minnesota Christmas Tournament held in Rochester on December 18-19.

We’ll go weight by weight and check out the wrestlers to watch with one of Minnesota’s biggest wrestling events.

Then we’ll talk with nationally-ranked Brett Pfarr, the starting 197-pounder from the University of Minnesota. Pfarr hails from Le Sueur, Minn., and he’s made a successful jump from 184 pounds to 197. He’ll break down some of the thoughts about this up-and-down season for the Gophers and what the difference has been in his own performance.

iTunes | Stitcher | Spreaker | Soundcloud | RSS

Continue reading