MWCA Recognizes 2024 State Individual Team Champions

Since 2013, the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association has recognized the Team Champions from the MSHSL Individual State Tournament. The winning team and runner-up from each class (A, AA, AAA, and Girls) earn a trophy/plaque to display at their respective schools.

This year, the MWCA is proud to recognize Apple Valley as the Girls Champion, Kenyon-Wanamingo as the Class A Champion, Simley as the Class AA Champion, and Saint Michael-Albertville as the Class AAA Champion. The top 10 teams per class are shared below.

Continue reading →

Trinity School at River Ridge, Minneapolis Roosevelt, and Anoka are top MWCA Academic Teams

Each year, coaches look at their post-season roster and take ten of those individuals to compile their team GPA. These teams can either qualify for a Silver Award (3.00-3.49) or Gold Award (3.5+) cumulative GPA.

This season, Class A was led by Trinity School at River Ridge, with a 10-member cumulative team GPA of 3.985. The top team in Class AA was Minneapolis Roosevelt, with a 3.975 cumulative GPA. Class AAA was led by Anoka with a 3.860 GPA.

Continue reading →

2024 MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team Named

By Joe Puncochar, MWCA Individual All-State Academic Chairman

Updated on February 28, 2024

In 2024, the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches’ Association has found 31 outstanding student-athletes to recognize as the 2024 MWCA All-State Academic Individual Wrestling Team. They not only set out to be determined wrestlers but also have accomplished much in the classroom. Being recognized as Academic All-State by the MWCA is not an easy task. The MWCA only takes the top student-athletes at each weight class to be recognized for this honor. With over 130 nominees and only 31 who were chosen to receive the award, it’s quite the feat to be recognized!

This year’s team had four students who boast a perfect 4.0 unweighted cumulative GPA! Beau Hudoba of Ogilvie, David Revering of Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie, Zak McPhee of Proctor/Hermantown, and Will Sather of Eden Prairie. Each of these wrestlers has previously competed in the state tournament and has had a long track record of success. Joining them as repeat honorees are Jed Wester of STMA, Devin Carter of TMB/WWG, Nolan Ambrose of Jackson County Central, and Jack Nelson of Mound-Westonka. It is quite the feat to earn one All-State Academic honor, let alone two!

Continue reading →

MWCA Scholarship Recipients 2024

The Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association has awarded eight $1,000 scholarships this year. High school seniors who have wrestled at a Minnesota high school and are college-bound were eligible to apply.

Congratulations to this year’s MWCA scholarship winners:

Continue reading →

MWCA Deadlines Reminder

Deadlines for several Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association honors and awards are fast approaching.

The Mr. Minnesota High School Wrestler Award, Media Award, Academic Team Awards, Individual All-State Academic Awards, Assistant Coach of the Year Award, and Scholarship Awards all have upcoming February deadlines.

MWCA Honors and Awards Forms and Deadlines