Steffen, Traen, Springer, and Murray are MWCA Coaches of the Year

Every spring at tournament time coaches from each high school section vote for their respective Section Head and Assistant Coach of the Year. Head coach selections are then put on a ballot to be voted on by all coaches at the State Tournament for Class AAA, AA, and A Coach of the Year.

2018 State Coach of the Year selections are: Class A – Link Steffen of Zumbrota-Mazeppa, Class AA – Joe Traen of Watertown-Mayer/Mayer Lutheran (Awarded Posthumously), and Class AAA – Todd Springer/Lucas Murray of Anoka.

Chisago Lakes Coach Shawn Frederixon was voted President-Elect and will be MWCA President in 2019-2020. Next season’s MWCA President is Neil Jennissen of Cambridge-Isanti.

2018 Section Coaches of the Year are Posted HERE.

2018 MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team Named

The 2018 edition of the MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team is a Senior-dominated group that truly represents what is great about the youth of our sport. “The focus of this award is to reward some of our state’s most dedicated wrestlers for their work in the classroom; student-athletes that have shown prowess on the mat, and also in the classroom are what coaches should be looking for in their development of young adults. These wrestlers certainly represent that ideal very well!” commented Joe Puncochar, MWCA All-State Academic Chairperson. Continue reading

MWCA Fall Clinic set for October 28th in Inver Grove Heights

The 2017 Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Fall Clinic will feature University of Minnesota Coach Brandon Eggum, NCAA Champion Tony Nelson, and Coach Andy Ourada. The Clinic will take place on Saturday, October 28th, in a new location at Simley High School in Inver Grove Heights. Continue reading

MWCA Match Count Proposal Passes

This morning the Minnesota State High School League’s Representative Assembly met and voted on potential bylaw changes. One of those changes was the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Advisory Committee’s proposal to change wrestling’s match count bylaw from 18 events and 36 individual matches to 16 events and 45 individual matches. This proposal passed along with four other by-law changes suggested by other sports’ advisory bodies. Continue reading

11 inducted into the 2017 Bartelma Minnesota Wrestling Hall of Fame

Benson, Minn. – Eleven new members were inducted into the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) Dave Bartelma Hall of Fame on Saturday, April 29th in Benson, Minn.

The new inductees honored were Russ Holland, Bill Germann, Bill Olson, Jim Nunn, Tom Press, Dick Saxlund, Steve Saxlund, and Mark Voyce. Also inducted as Pioneers of Minnesota Wrestling were Gene Lybbert, LeRoy Maas, and Harry Bockhaus. Many past Hall of Fame inductees were in attendance. Continue reading

Kasson-Mantorville’s Brady Berge Named 2017 Mr. MN Wrestler

The Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association annually presents the Mr. Minnesota High School Wrestler award to the senior that best exemplifies the highest ideals of high school wrestling in Minnesota. Judging is based on past performances, citizenship, academics, leadership, and adherence to MSHSL rules. This year the committee is proud to recognize Kasson-Mantorville’s four-time state champion and nationally number one ranked wrestler at 160 pounds, Brady Berge. Continue reading