NWCA DI Leadership Group Takes a Position on the 2020-2021 Competition Season

Manheim, PA – The NWCA Division I Leadership Group (LG) sent a letter on Wednesday to all Division I Coaches, Athletic Directors, Senior Women’s Administrators and Conference Liaisons to recommend a shift to the 2020-21 season as a result of ongoing complications related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Continue reading

Jackrabbits’ Cook, Pohlmeyer honored by NWCA

MANHEIM, Pa. – South Dakota State University’s Tanner Cook and Henry Pohlmeyer were honored Thursday as Division I Scholar All-Americans by the National Wrestling Coaches Association.

Both wrestlers qualified for the 2020 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships and have compiled a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 during their collegiate careers.

Continue reading

Iowa sets NCAA record for home attendance as annual D1 figures released

Minnesota is 7th, South Dakota State is 21st

NEW BRIGHTON, Minn. — The National Wrestling Media Association released the annual Division I attendance figures for college wrestling home duals.

In the previous 13 years, the University of Iowa’s wrestling program led the nation in home attendance. One thing it hadn’t done, though, was put over 10,000 fans into Carver-Hawkeye Arena for every dual in a season.

That changed in 2019-20 as the Hawkeyes averaged a record 12,568.4 with seven home dates for a total of 87,979. It’s not the largest total Iowa’s ever produced, but the 87,979 is the largest total attendance for events solely at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The top crowd in Carver-Hawkeye was the 14,905 against Penn State.

Continue reading

Hauck joins Jackrabbits

South Dakota State wrestling coach Damion Hahn announced the addition of Marshall Hauck to the Jackrabbit roster after the 2020 Iowa state champion was accepted for admission to the university.

“Marshall is a great addition to our senior recruiting class,” Hahn said. “We are excited to bring him to Brookings and work with him to achieve his future goals.”

Hauck posted a 47-4 record for Lisbon High School en route to winning the Class 1A state title at 152 pounds during the recently completed season. Of his 47 wins, 25 were by fall. He also helped lead Lisbon to a state duals title and runner-up finish at the state tournament.

Continue reading

Three Jacks named All-Americans by NWCA

MANHEIM, Pa. – Three South Dakota State University wrestlers were honored Friday as members of the 2020 Division I All-America Second Team by the National Wrestling Coaches Association.

After the COVID-19 pandemic forced the cancellation of the 2020 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, this year’s All-America honors were based on each wrestler’s overall body of work through conference tournaments.

Continue reading

NWCA Division I Coaches Group Announces 2020 All-America Teams

Manheim, PA – The National Wrestling Coaches Association has announced the 2020 Division I All-American teams. Each year the NWCA recognizes the outstanding work of the DI Student-Athletes by naming the All-Americans based on their achievements in the national championship, however, this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic the championships were canceled.

All-American honors were based on each wrestler’s overall body of work through the conference tournaments and up to the national championships.

Continue reading