Mustangs ready for competition at Super Regional V

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team will compete this Saturday at the NCAA Division II Super Regional V Tournament at Sioux Falls Arena in Sioux Falls, S.D.

The Super Regional Tournament V includes nine NSIC wrestling institutions and the University of Wisconsin-Parkside. The top three finishers in each weight class will qualify for the NCAA Championships, to be held on March 13-14 at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Continue reading

University of Mary 18 Southwest Minnesota State 16

UMary earns last bout in victory over SMSU

MARSHALL, Minn. – Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team (4-7, 3-5 NSIC) closed the regular season on Saturday afternoon, falling 18-16 to UMary (3-7, 1-4 NSIC) in the PE Gym.

After a hot-start for the Mustangs, opening the dual with three consecutive victories, the Marauders went for the next four bouts, including a win by pin to rally back for the lead.

Although the Mustangs finished with two more victories at 184 and 197, it came down to the heavyweight dual as the Mustangs entered the final bout of the night with a 16-15 lead.

Continue reading

Southwest Minnesota State 22 Minot State 15

SMSU Defeats No. 23 Minot State In Thrilling Battle

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team (4-6, 3-4 NSIC) rallied against No. 23 Minot State (4-7, 0-5 NSIC) to earn a 22-15 victory on Friday night in the R/A Facility.

The dual started at 149 and opened with three bout victories for Minot State before Hayden Voxland (174) started the winning streak for the Mustangs with a decision victory over Joey Lopez. Cole Hennen (184) then followed behind with a victory by major decision (12-0) over Noe Garcia.

Continue reading

SMSU hosts Minot State and UMary in final conference weekend

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team (3-6, 2-4 NSIC), hosts No. 23 Minot State (4-6, 0-4 NSIC) and UMary (2-6, 0-3 NSIC) in the final regular conference weekend of the 2019-20 season.

The action begins on Friday at 7 p.m. facing No. 23 Minot State and continues on Saturday at 3 p.m. versus UMary. Saturday’s dual will honor SMSU’s seven seniors; Brock Buysse, Cole Hennen, Andrew Petersen, Nick Santos, Kyle Green, Willie Meine, and Ben Thompson.

The Mustangs faced No. 17 Minnesota State (7-2, 3-1 NSIC) last week to fall 31-7 last Thursday in the PE Gym. Jackson Stauffacher (133) and Hayden Voxland (174) were the lone Mustangs to earn a bout victory in the dual.

Continue reading

Minnesota State 31 Southwest Minnesota State 8

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team (3-6, 2-4 NSIC) fell to No. 17 Minnesota State (7-1, 3-0 NSIC), 31-8, on Thursday night in the PE Gym.

SMSU claimed two bout victories in the dual, the first a win by tech fall at 133 as Jackson Stauffacher defeated MSU’s Cole Gille.

Continue reading

SMSU welcomes No. 17 MSU in Thursday dual

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team (3-5, 2-3 NSIC), coming off a 1-2 weekend after falling to NSIC-opponent, Augustana on Friday and going 1-1 at the York College/Northeast Oklahoma/Southwest Minnesota State Triangular in York, Neb., on Saturday, is set to host No. 17 Minnesota State (6-1, 2-0 NSIC) on Thursday at 7 p.m. in the PE Gym, rescheduled from Jan. 18.

Continue reading