St. Cloud State Athletics Partners with Opendorse

The Huskies Marketplace, the official NIL marketplace for SCSU student-athletes, will launch as part of partnership

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – St. Cloud State Athletics is excited to announce its partnership with Opendorse, the industry leader in Name, Image and Likeness (NIL), ahead of the 2023-24 season to assist its student-athletes build their personal brands. The partnership will include the Huskies Marketplace, which will serve as SCSU’s official NIL marketplace for student-athletes and will be available in the coming weeks.

The new and accessible platform will support St. Cloud State student-athletes by offering fans, brands and sponsors a single, streamlined platform to easily find, pitch, book and compensate SCSU student-athletes for their NIL services.

“We are extremely excited to be the newest member of the Opendorse family,” said Director of Athletics Holly Schreiner. “With the ever-changing landscape of collegiate athletics and the ability for student-athletes to profit off their Name, Image and Likeness, it was vital for our department to equip our student-athletes with the right resources to take full advantage of the opportunities presented to them. We encourage our St. Cloud State supporters – fans, brands, sponsors, donors – to take advantage of the Huskies Marketplace to connect and partner with our student-athletes on NIL opportunities.”

Continue reading →

Huskies Wrestling announces 2023-24 schedule

St. Cloud State set to wrestle nine conference duals, two dual tournaments and three opens

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – St. Cloud State Wrestling has announced their 2023-24 schedule. The Huskies are set to wrestle nine Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference duals, two dual tournaments and three opens throughout the upcoming season. Beginning their competition schedule with the traditional Black and Red Classic on Thursday, November 2 at Halenbeck Hall, the Huskies will compete in a pair of opens before starting their dual schedule at the Drury Duals on November 16 in Springfield, Missouri.

Following the Black and Red on November 2, the Huskies will travel to the Yellowjacket and Luther Opens on November 4 and 11 respectively. Dual season begins in Springfield, Missouri with the Drury Duals on Thursday, November 16. SCSU opens conference duals with a December 1 trip to Minot State followed by the Huskies’ regular-season home opener on December 9 against MSU-Moorhead.

Continue reading →

St. Cloud State Wrestling adds seven to 2023 signing class

Huskies’ 2023 recruiting class increases to 11 standout wrestlers

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – St. Cloud State Wrestling head coach Steve Costanzo has announced the addition of seven student-athletes to the Huskies’ strong 2023 recruiting class. Dylan Bravo-Packer (Fort Lupton, Colo.), James Burks (Omaha, Neb.), Nathan Fury (Wichita, Kan.) Ethan Hendrickson (Menahga, Minn.), Conor Knopick (Omaha, Neb.), Brendan Lockart (Great Falls, Mont.) and Vittorio Massa (River Falls, Wis.) have all signed with the Huskies wrestling program ahead of the 2023-24 campaign.

Along with their new additions, the Huskies signed four additional standouts for 2023-24 in the fall of this past year. Colton Bornholdt (New Prague, Minn.), Dominic Ducato (Carpentersville, Ill.), Cole Glazier (Kasson, Minn.) and Derek Johnson (Hoxie, Kan.) help round out an impressive 2023 signing class.

“Our recruiting goal as a staff is to always add depth, competition and character to an already talented roster,” said Coach Costanzo, “I applaud the efforts of coach Brady Wilson and coach Jake Barzowski for their many hours of work on trying to bring in the best student-athletes to St. Cloud State University. We are very excited to get started with this team in 2023-24!”

Continue reading →

Bianchini and Rachel named 2022-23 St. Cloud State Athletes of the Year

Joey Bianchini (Wrestling) and Linsey Rachel (Volleyball) earn department’s highest student-athlete honor

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – St. Cloud State Athletics has named wrestler Joey Bianchini and volleyball player Linsey Rachel the 2022-23 St. Cloud State Athletes of the Year. Both student-athletes earned three All-American honors while leading their respective programs to multiple conference championships and garnering many academic accolades in the classroom.

“Joey and Linsey have been true ambassadors of St. Cloud State Athletics both in the realm of competition and in the classroom,” said SCSU Director of Athletics Holly Schreiner, “The two embody many leadership traits that have allowed their respective programs to reach great success at the conference, regional and national levels. We are so proud of what they have done for their programs and Huskies Athletics on the whole. I can most certainly say that we were most fortunate to watch Joey and Linsey’s careers unfold at St. Cloud State and cannot wait to see what their futures hold.”

Continue reading →

Bianchini earns Academic All-American honors

Three-time All-American and four-time Region Champion closes career as an Academic All-American

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – St. Cloud State redshirt senior Joey Bianchini has earned Third Team Academic All-American honors as announced by the College Sports Communicators on Wednesday. Bianchini becomes the Huskies’ 10th Academic All-American and the eighth under head coach Steve Costanzo.

Continue reading →