St. Cloud State Wrestling Announces 2023-2024 Team Awards

Huskies commemorate touted 2023-24 season at annual awards banquet on Friday

St. Cloud, Minn.- St. Cloud State Wrestling has announced their 2023-24 team awards after another successful season at the team’s annual Awards Banquet on Friday, April 26. St. Cloud State qualified eight wrestlers to the NCAA Tournament and as a team finished in fifth place. The Huskies also won their eighth consecutive Super Region V Championship and finished third at the NWCA National Duals.

Nick Novak was named the Dean Weisman Wrestler of the Year after he was the National Runner-Up in the NCAA Tournament, Super Region V Champion, NSIC Wrestler of the Year, and NWCA Wrestler of the Year while earning All-American and First Team All-NSIC Honors.

Shaeden Scheidt and Anthony Herrera were named the program’s Scholar Wrestlers of the Year. Bryce Dagel, Bryce FitzPatrick, and Kaleb Horn were awarded the Gary Boman Most Improved Wrestler, while Aoci Bernard, Cole Glazier, Ethan Hendrickson, Kaleb Horn, Blake Legred, Dominic Murphy, Colby Njos, Nick Novak, and Nolan Throne were recipients of the Iron Man of the Year award.

Continue reading →

11 Huskies Named NWCA Scholarship All-Americans

Program produces 11+ Scholarship All-Americans for fourth consecutive season

MANHEIM, Pa. – 11 St. Cloud State wrestlers have been named 2023-24 Scholar All-Americans by the National Wrestling Coaches Association as announced by the NWCA last week. The 11 Huskies Scholar All-Americans matches the program’s second-highest total and is the fourth consecutive season where St. Cloud State has produced 11+ Scholar All-Americans.

Wyatt Abele, Colton Bornholdt, Augustus Donovan, Dominic Ducato, Nathan Fury, Cole Glazier, Ethan Hendrickson, Anthony Herrera, Phillip Kue, Dominic Murphy, and Nick Novak all earned the Scholar All-American status. Bornholdt, Ducato, Fury, Glazier, and Hendrickson are all first-time recipients, Abele and Kue are second-time honorees, and Donovan, Herrera, Murphy, and Novak earned the honor for the third time in their careers.

Continue reading →

St. Cloud State Wrestling Awards Banquet set for April 26

Annual awards banquet scheduled for Friday, April 26, from 5-9 p.m. CT at Park Event Center in Waite Park

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – The 2023-24 St. Cloud State Wrestling Awards Banquet has been scheduled for Friday, April 26, at the Park Events Center at 500 Division St in Waite Park. Parents, alumni, boosters, and friends of SCSU Wrestling are invited to attend the event, which will begin at 5:00 p.m. and run through 9:00 p.m. CT.

Individual and team accomplishments will be recognized alongside a season highlight video, reflecting on an outstanding 2023-24 campaign as the program looks ahead to next season. The team will also inductee Clint Poster (’16) as the newest member of the Jack Gause Huskies Wrestling Hall of Fame Award.

Continue reading →

St. Cloud State places six wrestlers on NSIC Winter All-Academic list

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – St. Cloud State Athletics had 43 student-athletes, including six wrestlers, earn 2023-24 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Winter All-Academic recognition, as announced by the league on Thursday morning. In addition, 31 Huskies earned Team of Excellence recognition.

Women’s Swim & Dive led the way with 16 recipients, followed by Women’s Basketball’s 10. Wrestling and Track & Field each had six recipients, and Men’s Basketball had five.

Continue reading →

Novak Named NWCA Wrestler of the Year for Second Consecutive Season

Novak earned second All-America honor after finishing runner-up at 157 pounds

MANHEIM, Pa. – St. Cloud State Wrestling junior 157-pounder Nick Novak (New Prague, Minn.) was named the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Super Region 5 Wrestler of the Year, as announced by the organization on Wednesday. Novak was awarded the region’s top honor for the second consecutive season after also winning the award following his national championship performance in 2022-23.

Continue reading →

Murphy Named NSIC Outstanding Senior of the Year

Murphy earns honor for athletic, academic, and community achievements

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – St. Cloud State Wrestling redshirt senior Dominic Murphy (Evergreen Park, Ill.) was named the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Outstanding Senior of the Year in wrestling. The Husky grappler recently earned his second All-America honor at the 2024 NCAA Championships.

The “NSIC Outstanding Senior of the Year Award” is presented to an NSIC Wrestling student-athlete who participates at their institution for four years and is academically superior while making a positive contribution to their team and the University. The NSIC Outstanding Senior of the Year award was initiated in 2020-21 to honor an outstanding senior who exemplifies the attributes of the model NSIC student-athlete.

Continue reading →

Costanzo Named NSIC Coach of the Year, Novak Named NSIC Wrestler of the Year

Costanzo named league’s top coach for 10th time, Novak earns honor for second straight year

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) recognized St. Cloud State Wrestling head coach Steve Costanzo and junior 157-pounder Nick Novak (New Prague, Minn.) in the league’s end-of-season awards, as announced on Thursday. Costanzo was named the league’s head coach of the year, while Novak was named the wrestler of the year for the second straight season.

Costanzo was named the league’s coach of the year for the 10th time after leading the Huskies to its ninth consecutive top-five finish at the 2024 NCAA Championships with a fifth-place finish. Six Huskies captured top-eight finishes for All-America recognition, bringing Costanzo’s 18-year total to 93 All-Americans. SCSU capture the NSIC regular season title following a perfect 9-0 mark in conference duals, marking the 17th NSIC title in program history and 12th in the last 13 seasons.

Continue reading →